Having Surgery

I’m not sure if many of you know this, unless you’ve glanced at my About Me page…but I’m disabled. I have a condition called Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome, which is kind of like Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, but it’s in your feet and is a lot more complicated and painful.

Basically what this means is that I have a lot of trouble walking around. I use a walker a lot, and sometimes I have to use my wheelchair. I have a lot of problems doing every day activities that I used to take for granted before I became handicapped three and a half years ago, like driving, taking a shower, and cooking dinner. Because I haven’t really been able to walk for so long, my leg muscles have become atrophied, which makes it even more difficult for me to do things like get out of the car or put pants on.

I’ve been trying to figure out how to fix this problem ever since it first started, and it’s been a long road of doctor’s appointments, tests, and therapy (you can read about my entire journey here, if you’re interested) ever since.

And on Friday, I finally had surgery, which is something that I’ve been waiting for for a very long time. I’m pre-writing this post on Thursday, November 7th, because I’m trying to schedule a lot of posts in advance so that I won’t have to blog while I’m recovering. I just wanted to let you guys know what’s going on in my life, and explain why I might not be commenting/posting as much in the weeks following this surgery.

What they’re doing is cutting into my left leg and loosening my calf muscle. My doctor hopes that this will help alleviate the pressure on my tarsal tunnel nerve, which is being compressed and causing pain. In a few weeks, I’ll have the same surgery again, on my right leg.

I’m trying not to get my hopes up too much, but it’s hard not to imagine how much my life will change if I’m finally able to walk around again. All thoughts and prayers for my quick recovery and potential cure are much appreciated 🙂

13 responses to “Having Surgery

  1. So sorry to hear about your condition, but I hope the surgery fixes everything. I’ve never heard of this before and I can imagine the pain. Good luck and get well soon!

  2. I’ve followed your journey with this issue through your other blog and I really hope that this surgery brings you at least some relief. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. I’m really sorry that you have to go through that pain 😦 It sounds terrible. I hope the surgery helps relieve the pain and let’s you get up and walking! I will be wishing for you, Miranda!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#8) |·

  5. Pingback: Book Haul (#4): Strand & Book-Off (29 books!) |·

    • Thank you so much! It’s been 2 weeks since I had the surgery and I’m feeling phenomenal, to be honest. I still have to wear an air cast, but I’m so excited about how much progress I’ve made in just this short amount of time.

      And believe me, haha, I thought about taking a blogging vacation, and that’s why I put up the post — to explain any random, unforeseen absences, since I wasn’t really sure how much I was going to want to/if I was going to be able to blog — but I ended up being very bored with having to sit in my bed for a week. I didn’t realize how much laying down was going to be happening (a lot). So blogging was really one of the only entertaining things I was able to do for a while there (besides reading, of course! 😉 ). And, plus, I had scheduled a bunch of posts in advance!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#12) |·

  7. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#13) |·

  8. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#17) |·

  9. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#18) |·

Leave a comment