Book Review: Undertow by Leigh T. Moore

UNDERTOW

Title: Undertow

Author: Leigh T. Moore

Series: Dragonfly (#2)

Publisher: Self-published

Publication Date: 7-18-13

Pages: 337

Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Source: ARC provided by author & Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

GoodreadsAmazon

In Dragonfly, Bill Kyser gave Anna the three journals that held the story behind the powerful developer’s seclusion and the damaged lives of his family members. 

Anna hoped to find a way for Julian to know the truth, but as she digs deeper into the tragic events of the past, she realizes silence could be the only option. 

Now she’s in an alliance with the man she formerly feared. And if Julian finds out what she knows, she could lose for good the boy she’s starting to love.

Short and Sweet

A surprising and very unique sequel to Dragonfly, I devoured this book and love how well-written it is.

My Review

After being pleasantly surprised by the first book in this series, Dragonfly, I was excited to read Undertow, hoping that it would be just as good. And I actually ended up liking this one even better than the first! It was a lot different than Dragonfly, and I really appreciated how unique and quite risky it was. At the end of the first book, Anna receives three journals that are all about the same event, told from three different perspectives. In Undertow, she reads these journals and learns the true story behind the death of Jack’s and Lucy’s mom. So about 95% of this book is told in epistolary style through the journals, and we only get a tiny bit of Anna’s story, at the beginning and end of the novel.

I thought that it was such an interesting twist. This book was almost like a companion novel, in that it didn’t have the same main characters as the first book in the series, but it’s also really not a companion novel, because you need all of the information from the first book to understand the nuances behind everything that’s happening in Undertow.

I really enjoyed reading the three different journals. I was totally sucked into the story and could not get enough of it. This book was a pretty decent size, but I flew through it. The reason this book was so impressive was because of how great a job Moore does with this difficult style of writing. I loved how engrossed I was able to become in the story, even though these people weren’t the main characters I had grown used to and loved. I also think that sometimes it’s hard for an author to separate the voices when writing in multiple perspectives, but each journal had a totally different style and tone that really showed the individuality of the characters. I also thought that I might get bored, reading about the same event three times in a row, but Moore was able to spice it up. Each journal gave the reader new information that they previously didn’t have, so each time was a totally different and interesting experience.

I wish that we’d gotten more of Anna and Julian’s story, as that’s what I would expect from a sequel, but I also really appreciated how unique this approach was. I did think that it was slightly unrealistic, though. I mean…how many adults do you know who keep journals? And these three adults all just happen to keep practically meticulous records of this specific time in their lives? It’s just a little weird. But I really liked being able to experience all three sides of the story, so I was happy to suspend my belief for a little bit.

Ultimately, I would totally recommend this series and I really want to see what happens in the third book. The first two books completely surprised me, especially because I’m not somebody who typically enjoys reading contemporary young adult novels, and I’m very impressed by the caliber of Moore’s writing.

(see this review on Goodreads)

My Rating 4.5 anchors

Leave a Reply

