Book Haul (#4): Strand & Book-Off (29 books!)

Since I live in RI, my parents and I often take one-day or weekend trips to NYC (it’s only about 4 hours away). I don’t go with them as much anymore, now that I’ve moved out of the house, but lately I’ve been going with my mother at least twice a year. It’s hard to get around with my wheelchair, but it’s really nice to be able to get some fresh air and see the sights, and my mom doesn’t mind pushing me around (too much πŸ˜‰ ).

The last few times I went, I’ve been obsessed with visiting used bookstores. There’s one used bookstore that’s near my house that’s okay, but it really doesn’t have the kind of selection that I’d like, particularly when it comes to YA fiction.

Book-Off

So when I go to NYC, I can’t wait to go to some awesome used bookstores. My favorite one that I’ve found so far is called Book-Off. They’re kind of commercial and most of their business comes from the used video games and moives, but their only prices for books are either $5 or $1 (and there’s literally hundreds of $1 books!), so I always manage to find good stuff (and a lot of it!). They have a pretty decent YA section, too.

Strand

Last time I went, I also went to visit Strand, which is a famous NYC used bookstore that I’ve heard about from so many people. I definitely wasn’t a huge fan of this one, but I did pick up a couple of books while I was there, “just because.” My dad is a huge literary nerd, so he was super sweet and offered to pay for any and all books that I wanted to buy while in the city, so obviously I stocked up πŸ˜‰

The Grand Total

I ended up getting all 29 books for almost exactly $200, which equals out to $6.90 per book, which really isn’t bad at all, especially considering how expensive the Strand books were (about $7-$15 for each used book…ridiculous!).

Book Haul (#5): The Strand & Book-Off

 

 

 

Books from Strand:

 

BoleynGirl-Linger

 

Wife-Inheritance

 

Books from Book-Off:

 

Grave-Bride

 

Monster-Quiet

 

Angel-Blue

 

Pretty-Burned

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Book Haul (#4): Strand & Book-Off (29 books!)

Leave a Reply

