My Favorite Features from Other Book Bloggers!

Favorite Features

Today, I thought I’d showcase some of my favorite features around the blogosphere! There’s tons of features out there that I absolutely adore, so don’t feel bad if you didn’t make it on this list…these are just the ones that really stand out to me as being some of my most favorites 🙂 They’re also in no particular order!

fashion

Fashion By the Book from Boricuan Bookworms

Eeee! I love this feature so much. While I may not always be the best dressed myself, I adore fashion in general. So anytime anybody has a fashion post involving books, you know I’ll be all over that. Which is why this feature is one of my favorites! Just check out the post they did on The Fault in Our Stars & Crash Into You by Katie McGarry. Such cute outfits!!

saturated-reads

Saturated Reads from The Thousand Lives

You guys, this is such a cool feature. Kayla has synesthesia, which basically means that she associates a lot of things with certain colors…like numbers or emotions or people. So she decided to create a feature playing off this in which she explains what colors she associates with certain books/series/characters, and then examines whether or not the books’ covers are in line with what she’s pictured in her head. I just love how unique this feature is, and it always makes me think about books a little differently.

header-make-it-a-movie-02

Make It a Movie Monday from Jenna Does Books

This is another really great feature that I love. While it’s not super unique, because a lot of people do casting-type posts and reviews, I love that she makes her feature stand out from the crowd by also including her own movie poster designs (I absolutely adore the one she made for Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi). I also think that, most of the time, her casting choices are spot-on!

sss1

Silver Screen Saturdays from Polished Page-Turner

This is another movie-themed feature, but it’s totally different than the one that Jenna Does Books has. It’s actually a feature that showcases upcoming movies, trailers, casting alerts…basically, anything we might be interested in that has to do with movies (particularly those that are based on books, of course!). This is just such a great idea for a feature, and I love getting updates on stuff like that!

Bookish-Games

Bookish Games from Oh, the Books!

Obviously, the Bookish Games has to be part of my list. It might just be the best feature that any book blogger has ever thought up. If you’ve never played, you seriously should think about signing up for the next one! I’ve played twice, and both times it was so much fun. I loved being able to connect with other bloggers in such a different and cool kind of way.

novel-portraits-300x168

Novel Portraits from Stay Bookish

Novel Portraits, and specifically the Beyond the Lens portion of the feature (in which Hazel showcases BookStagrammers), are posts that I just can’t get enough of. I’ve always been a fan of photography, and while I’m not very good at bookish photography myself, I very much appreciate it and love seeing it on my Instagram feed.

yourejustmytypebanner

You’re Just My Type from The Novel Hermit

Oh my gosh, isn’t the banner for this feature the CUTEST?! I love it. Almost as much as I love the feature itself! Once I realized that PicMonkey now lets you access the fonts from your own computer, I became obsessed with downloading cute, free fonts, and I’ve found so many great ones by perusing these posts!

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 5.28.54 PM

Consider This Classic from So Obsessed With

I don’t talk about classics too much here on the blog, since it’s mostly YA-focused, but I’ve always been a fan of the genre ever since I started reading classics in school. My favorite, by the way, is The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner — I’ve read it twice, and both times, thought it was amazing. For this feature, Hannah has a guest post come on her site and recommend one of their favorite classics, explaining why people might like it and what other books it reminds them of.

hg-banner

Bookish Wedding Inspiration from Ode to Jo & Katniss

Oh my god, I LOVE this feature. I’m kind of obsessed with these posts, I’m not gonna lie. Amy recently shared some wedding inspiration for The Hunger Games series, and I about died. She has such great taste, and everything was absolutely perfect and just as it should be. I dare you not to “ooh” and “ahh” over these posts!

 

What are some of your favorite features from other bloggers? What’s your favorite feature on YOUR blog? My two favorite features from Tempest Books are Bookish Beauty and Historical Fiction Spotlight.

11 responses to “My Favorite Features from Other Book Bloggers!

  1. I haven’t heard of most of these. I do like the Saturated Reads feature just like you, I just have to stop by this feature every time, although I don’t comment every time.
    The banner for You’re Just My Type from The Novel Hermit looks so cute, will have to check it out!
    I have seen the bookish games feature a few times, but never participated.

  2. HOLD UP. YOU CAN USE YOUR OWN FONTS ON PICMONKEY??? I feel like my entire life has just been changed irreversibly. Oh my god. I need a moment.

    I never saw Jenna’s casting for Shatter Me, but holy crap those are so spot on it’s not even funny. Especially Jude Law for Anderson! And Booboo Steward for Kenji is just *angel chorus singing*

    *warm fuzzies because you included Saturated Reads*

  3. Thanks so much for including Bookish Wedding Inspiration! And really, thanks for this post in general because there are several of these that are new to me but sound really neat!

  4. Aww thanks Miranda 😀 I remember how unsure I was about doing the Bookish Games when I got the original idea. I’m so glad I decided to go through with it! It’s a lot of work, but it’s so fun to watch it all play (and to see how evil I can make it ;)). I definitely think it’s my favorite feature on my blog.

    So many other features here I love as well! I sort of like how each of these features give you insight into the personality and interests of the different bloggers. While we all share a love of books and want to talk about books, it’s always neat to see what other things make up a blogger’s heart 🙂

  5. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Sep 14-20, 2014 | Oh, the Books!·

  6. Love this post! These are all new to me and I can’t wait to check them out. I love creating fashion roundups and was wondering about doing a book to fashion feature on my blog. But now I see someone already thought of that of course!

  7. Pingback: Book Bloggerista News: Sept. 22, 2014 | Parajunkee·

  8. Thanks for including Consider This Classic! I’m so happy you enjoy it 🙂 I don’t see people talking about classics a lot in the blogosphere, so I wasn’t really sure if anyone would care about the feature haha! But it’s been so fun to do, and I’ve loved the response!

  9. Pingback: September Wrap Up - Lose Time ReadingLose Time Reading·

Leave a comment