Weekly Wrap-Up (#35)

Weekly Wrap-Up

Weekly Wrap-Up is a post I share with you guys every Friday, in which I highlight all things bookish that I did in the past week — the books I read, the books I bought, books that I got from the library, and great posts that I found on other people’s blogs.

Separator

What’s Happening With Me This Week:

BEA!!!! I’m writing this post on Wednesday, but if you’re reading this on Friday I’m at BEA right now! I’m leaving Rhode Island Thursday afternoon and coming back Friday night 🙂 I’m so lucky NYC is only 4 hours away.

Books I Finished This Week:

Books I Finished

  1. The Assassin’s Blade (#0.1–#0.5) by Sarah J. Maas
  2. China Dolls by Lisa See
  3. Persuasion by Jane Austen

Awesome Posts From Other Bloggers:

Books & Authors:

Reading & Characters:

Blogging & Reviewing:

Other:

5 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up (#35)

  1. I was about to ask when you were going to review the novellas, but I found your link ^_^ *off to read it* Oh see I actually like Celaena’s pride! I mean, it annoyed me, but it was nice to read about a really flawed character and to see how she improved throughout the series. I’m sad you didn’t enjoy it more, but at least you gave it a shot! As long as you listen to me fangirl when Heir of Fire comes out, we’re cool 😀

    But on to more important things… HOW WAS BEA?? I assume you’re home by now. Probably sleeping, actually. Maybe? Anyhoo – I expect a full breakdown. You have my email, woman. Use it! I kid; I just really hope you had a fantastic time!

    • That’s the thing…it was a weird balance for me. I liked that Celaena was flawed, but she ended up being so flawed that (at least for me) I had a lot of trouble relating to her. And I have trouble really enjoying books when I can’t connect with the MC. But at the same time I was really appreciative of the fact that she was flawed! I just think maybe it’s an “it’s me, not you” type of situation. Maybe other people might relate to her more? Or don’t get as bothered by not being able to relate to flawed characters? It was just kind of weird for me…I had a hard time figuring out how I would rate this, or even how much I liked it. I had a lot of opinions about it floating around. I still want to finish the series, but I’m probably going to wait until all the books are released to keep going. And of course you can fangirl!! Just because I don’t LOVE the series doesn’t mean that I don’t totally get why other people do. It’s clearly just me 😛

      BEA WAS AMAAAAAAZING! I wish that I took more pictures, though :/ It was kind of overwhelming and I forgot haha. But I had so so so much fun. I’m about to go to sleep now…I’ve been up (after three hours of sleep!) since 4am and it’s midnight now. I’m exhausted. But it was so worth it! I’m going to be doing a recap post on Sunday 😀

      Ahhhhh I WAS going to email you but Ihaveasecret and I didn’t want to tell you and oh my god I’m so bad at this lol. I’ve been dying inside all day wanting to share. (Yes literally all day, it’s killing me!) But I’m not doing it! Except just to tell you that I’m not doing it 😛 You’re going to have to wait like two more weeks. Or maybe three. But I’m so giddy about it hahaha. I’M EVIL. But it’s okay because the surprise will totally make up for it 😀 Okay so remember that thing where, when I’m tired, I can’t stop talking? I think it’s happening again 😛 This is my queue to leave. Is it still spelled queue when you’re talking about a time to leave and not a line? No, I think it’s cue. Yeah, cue. This is my CUE to leave. Oh my god it’s getting so bad. Please make me shut up. BYEEEEEEEE.

      *passes out from exhaustion*

      • Okay, that makes sense! Yeah, I’d say waiting would be good for you then. Especially since there’s SIX books O_O

        Ah no worries! I only got like six pics when I was at the festival in April 🙂 It’s better to just focus on where you are! And BEA is SO big I totally understand the forgetting pictures things. But you met authors, which was the important part! *impatiently waits for Sunday*

        Secrets??? Gahhhh okay okay I can wait two weeks. I can do this! But I am so excited with you now 😀 Hahaha I didn’t even notice the queue vs cue thing until you mentioned it 😉 Time to sleep Miranda!

        *tucks you in*

Leave a comment