I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga {Book Review}

7766027

I Hunt Killers BI

add-to-goodreads-button My Review

I Hunt Killers was an absolutely fantastic read. Totally different than any other YA book I’ve read, it’s fast-paced, intriguing, funny, and very well written. It almost felt like a YA version of Darkly Dreaming Dexter…if Dexter was the serial killer’s son instead of the serial killer. It had the same sort of writing style and main character who isn’t always that easy to like.

Jasper Dent was easily my favorite part of this book. His character is so unique and refreshing. There is no other YA narrator out there like him, and I can’t wait to read the other books in this series to get more from his perspective! He’s extremely insightful and smart, and capable of masterfully manipulating almost everybody…maybe even himself. Throughout the book, Jazz struggles with figuring out his identity, especially since he’s well known as the son of a notorious serial killer. Should he use his powers of perception that he got from his dad for good, or finally succumb to turning into what everybody expects him to become? He is such an interesting character to read about, constantly keeping me guessing as to what decisions he’d make and what kind of clues he’d discover — about others and himself. He might be one of my favorite main characters ever.

I also really liked the general plot of this book. The idea of having the son of a serial killer have to face his own destiny is such a different kind of story. And the fact that it’s so well written just makes this book awesome. In fact, the only thing that I didn’t like about this book was that I guessed the conclusion of the mystery very early on in the book. I kept hoping that I was going to be wrong…but, nope. I found it to be a little too obvious, because there was really nobody else it possibly could’ve been, so that was definitely disappointing. But everything else about I Hunt Killers was so on-point that I wasn’t bothered by that nearly as much as I could’ve been.

All I really have to say about this book is that it’s amazing. I loved it. There are so few YA thrillers out there, and this might just be the best one I’ve read yet! I would definitely recommend I Hunt Killers to fans of Dexter, and basically to everybody else, too. It’s such a great story that I can’t really imagine anybody not liking it!

My Rating 4 Ships

One response to “I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga {Book Review}

  1. I love this series! I like how there isn’t much angst to ruin the plot and Connie doesn’t give up on Jazz– ever. Howie make my day. I hope you read the sequel, Game, soon. The ending is insane. I just got my hands on the last book, Blood of My Blood. I cannot wait to start it.

Leave a Reply

