BOoMCZ Wrap-Up (#3): Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Last week, I embarked on the challenge of tackling a book in the fairytale retelling genre, and read Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson, which is what you guys chose for me in last month’s Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone poll!

I was really hoping that Tiger Lily would win the poll, so I was super excited about getting to read it! I honestly didn’t foresee this happening…

7514925

Tiger Lily BI

 

Did It Meet Your Expectations?

Umm…no. Not even close.really thought that I was going to love this book. Like, LOVE it. I can’t even believe that this is what happened. Ever since I became a part of the book blogging community, I’ve been hearing nothing but amazing things about this book. Everybody is constantly raving about it and claiming it as a favorite, so I was pretty much convinced that Tiger Lily was going to be a slam dunk. But, unfortunately, I had to stop reading after 90 pages.

What Didn't You Like About It?

…Everything? Ugh. I feel like such an awful person that I felt this way about a book that literally almost everybody else adores. But, I’m so sorry guys, I have to do this.

I knew after only a few pages that this wasn’t going to be a book for me. My biggest problem with it was that I immediately loathed the writing style. Before going into it, I didn’t realize that this story was told from a narrator that wasn’t Tiger Lily, and it irked me how distant I felt from everything because of that. In those 90 pages I read, I never felt like I got any sense of who Tiger Lily was as a person. She had no depth to her, and there was so much telling vs. showing. She didn’t even seem like a real person. And that was only made more apparent by the narration style.

I wasn’t connecting with any of the characters, I couldn’t relate to anything or even understand what the plot of it was supposed to be (did anything even happen?), and the narrator totally put me off right from the start. I am just clearly not the right reader for this book. But I’m so disappointed about that! I know that, for some people, Tiger Lily is beautiful and haunting and magical, but even though I really tried to see that part of it, I couldn’t.

What Was Your Favorite Part?

I definitely wouldn’t say that I had a “favorite part,” but I did really appreciate the concept of both the book and Tiger Lily’s character. Even though I didn’t necessarily like how it all played out, I thought that the idea itself was a good one, and portraying Tiger Lily as a different sort of girl who’s actually got all these problems we never knew about, is actually kind of cool…in theory. I just think that it would’ve worked significantly better if it had been written from Tiger Lily’s perspective. Or at least third-person omniscient.

Will You Read More From This Genre?

Absolutely! Just because I wasn’t exactly keen on this one doesn’t mean that the whole genre is a bust. I liked the idea of Tiger Lily so much that I think I’d definitely be interested in other fairytale retellings that are similar conceptually but maybe have a writing style that works better for me. You guys gave me a lot of great recommendations in the comments section of my original post, so I can’t wait to check out some of those! Maybe I’ll have to do a BOoMCZ Fairytale Retellings Part II 😛

 

Have you read this book? How did you feel about it?

 

8 responses to “BOoMCZ Wrap-Up (#3): Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

  1. Oh no! I’m so sorry this one didn’t work out D: I haven’t read it yet, but like you I’ve heard nothing but praise. But flat characters? I’d DNF any book with something like that. Hopefully you’ll enjoy the Lunar Chronicles once Winter is released!

  2. WE CAN NO LONGER BE FRIENDS.

    No, but seriously: sucks that you didn’t like it — so much so that you had to DNF! But I’ve learned that this book is CLEARLY not for everyone, and it seems to be that people either love it or hate it. I loved it. My sister DNFed it. So, I understand. 😦

    • I’M SO SORRY! I felt like the worst person ever when I realized that I needed to DNF it. I was thinking about just finishing it up anyway since Mel said the ending is worth it, but I honestly just couldn’t make myself keep going :/

      It’s so weird to me that books can sometimes be that polarizing. I think it’s very interesting, actually. But, yeah, it still sucks lol.

  3. If I had not bought this book and had not been reading it for book club, I probably would have DNF’d it too. Instead it ended up being like a 2.5 star book for me. I liked a couple of things but I kept waiting for something amazing to happen but you are so right, I just never felt a connection to Tiger Lily, especially with Tink was the narrator. It just didn’t work for me. I’m sorry it didn’t work out for you, but I’m also kind of glad to have another one in our “Not too crazy about Tiger Lily club.” You can find the others in the comments in my review of it.

  4. Honestly I didn’t like this one either. I love peter pan and I was hoping for a much better retelling. Nothing about it grabbed me and I had to make myself finish it and it wasn’t really worth it. I didn’t get the ending at all.

  5. Ah, so sad this one didn’t work for you! It was definitely a slow burn book and it took a long time to peel back all of Tiger Lily’s layers. Still, if you’re not enjoying a book, there’s no sense continuing. I have to remind myself all the time, especially when hype kills something, that my lack of enjoyment won’t hurt someone else’s enjoyment, and their enjoyment isn’t going to change my view on the book. If a book doesn’t work, it just doesn’t work! Hopefully your next “out of your comfort zone” book will work better for you!

Leave a Reply

