1st Blogiversary Celebration & Giveaway!!

Blogiversary Banner

YAYYY! Guess who’s turning 1 today? TEMPEST BOOKS!

History of the Blog

I honestly can’t believe that I’ve already been running this blog for a year. It feels like just yesterday that I finally decided to create this site, something that I’d been wanting to do for a long time.

Before I started Tempest Books, I ran a recipe/healthy living blog for 3 years, but eventually I just got kind of bored with it and wasn’t motivated by my content anymore. The community wasn’t really that welcoming, and I was sick of feeling like I didn’t belong.

Last June, I discovered BookTube and book bloggers and became newly obsessed with reading. I’ve always been a reader, but being an English major in college had burnt me out. Once I graduated, I realized that I could finally start getting back into books and it was so nice to rediscover my passion. Since I was already considering abandoning my current blog, I decided to shift gears instead and build a new one from scratch — this time focused on something that I’ve been in love with for my entire life. I can’t imagine ever not being motivated by books, even if one day I decide that this blogging thing just isn’t for me.

tumblr_n9clncX6lH1r7yxrco1_1280

I Love Running Tempest Books So Much!

But right now I’m loving it! My blog has grown exponentially over this past year, totally exceeding my expectations. And I’ve done and participated in so many things!

I’ve done multiple readathons, recorded some terrible videos, wrote 36 discussion posts, participated in a few Twitter chats, read many an awful ARC (and a few amazing ones!), played and died in the Bookish Games twice, became a beta reader, received so many more comments on posts than I ever thought I’d get, and connected with dozens of other bloggers that I seriously feel honored to call my friends.

tumblr_n98ulzODjq1r7yxrco1_1280

Blogging Means A Lot to Me

This past year has been absolutely crazy and awful for me. I went through two surgeries, my parents separated, and my cat died, to name a few of the things that made it so bad. But having this book blog and this amazing community to support me has been one of the biggest things that has helped in dealing with all of that stuff. I don’t know if I would’ve made it through without you guys ❤

And I need to make a special shoutout specifically to Kayla @ The Thousand Lives, who over this past year has put up with more than a few ranty text conversations and is always there with a virtual hug when I need to talk.

I also want to thank my top commenters — Finley @ Finley Jayne, Tammy @ Books, Bones & Buffy, Quinn @ Quinn’s Book Nook, Annie @ The Runaway Reader.

oi9de6yfgfr4cdx

THANK YOU

In order to thank the rest of you, I have a giveaway for a book of your choice from The Book Depository (up to $20!).

a Rafflecopter giveaway

27 responses to “1st Blogiversary Celebration & Giveaway!!

  1. Hey and congratulations!! 😀

    I am not a blogger but enjoy reading them. I think I could start a blog if I wanted, but I’m just too lazy I guess. Don’t have the time for it also 😦 But you’re really doing great with yours!

    I wish you more years with your blog 😀

    email grabs64(at)gmaik(dot)com

  2. Congrats on your first year blogoversary! It’s so awesome to reach that first milestone! And I am amazed at how many discussion posts you’ve written already, they are the reason I started following your blog. I love your discussion posts!

  3. Is that a goat with a unicorn horn??? THAT IS THE MOST ADORABLE THING I’VE SEEN ALL DAY OMG. I want one!!!

    It does seem like 80% of ARCs are pretty awful, huh? At least it helps us distinguish what a really good book is 😉

    *smothers you in hugs* Thank you for the mention ❤ I don't know how I would have gotten through my parents' separation if I didn't know you were going through the same thing and understood everything. You've helped me so much too ❤ I'm totally looking forward to another year! And more SebStan spam, of course 😉

  4. Happy blog birthday, Miranda! YAY for all the goat pictures! ^_^ I’m so glad you started blogging and that we found each other. I love your blog! ❤

  5. Ooooh, this is awesome, congrats! I was always under the impression that you’d been doing this for much longer, for some reason, maybe because your blog just seems so awesome?? I don’t know, but this is great! I love your blog. Here’s to many more fun and successful years of blogging for you. (((((:

    The book blogging community is so great; I haven’t been keeping up for the past few months now but I’m really hoping to pick everything up again soon, since I miss you guys so much.

    • Oh, thank you! That’s such a sweet compliment 🙂 You’re the best 😀

      I hope you do eventually come back for real! I would love that 🙂 I miss reading your reviews!

  6. Oh congratulations! Blogoversary’s are awesome because they show you really how much you are capapble of – you can actually do this blogging thing for a year 🙂
    Here’s to many more!

  7. Happy Blogoversary!
    I’ve been book blogging for 2 years and what I really love about this community is the camaraderie of everyone, both bloggers and authors. And it is really awesome to have a friend from all over the world.

  8. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY, MIRANDA!!! Here’s hoping for many more!! YAY!!!!

    To answer your questions regarding blogging: first of all, I’ve been blogging for 4 years. In fact, I’m celebrating my own blogoversary with a giveaway, too!! So come on over and enter mine!!

    I guess I have to say I have more than one favorite aspect about blogging. One of them is the ability to design my own blog (with Blogger’s help, lol), and write about the genres I love! But right up there with this is the chance to meet and make friends with other bloggers with similar tastes in books. I’ve learned from other bloggers, too! All around, blogging has been and is a very rewarding experience for me!! : )

    Here’s my blog giveaway link:
    http://anightsdreamofbooks.blogspot.com/2014/09/fourth-blogoversary-giveaway-for-nights.html#comment-form

Leave a Reply

