I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson {GIVEAWAY & DNF Review}

7943654

Give you the sun BI

add-to-goodreads-button My Review

I feel like I’m probably going to get shot for this, considering the (currently) 4.30 rating and plethora of rave reviews on Goodreads…but I honestly really did not like this book. I made it to page 116 before I had to give up because I just couldn’t take it anymore. I kept hoping that it would get better or that I was missing something that would somehow finally click — but it never did. This book is just not for me.

First of all, the chapters are so long. I don’t think I’ve ever read a YA book that had chapters this long. I mean, I made it to page 116 and I was still on the third chapter. How is that even possible? It made the whole thing even more torturous, because I felt trapped, like it was forcing me to keep reading and reading and reading when I really didn’t want to.

My biggest problem with the book was its writing style. Normally I’m a fan of unique and different writing styles (i.e. the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi), but I could not stand how this book was written. I thought that it sounded a little immature (not helped by the fact that one of the characters is 13, which in my opinion is too young for YA — I prefer the characters to be at least 15-16), and it all seemed very herky-jerky, like the prose version of “shaky cam,” and had some super weird hyperbolic metaphors that seemed kind of pointless and just plain weird (like when one of the characters said that he threw up bright green puke all over the dinner table…but, like, he didn’t actually do that). The word “toilet-licking” was also used no less than 8 times in the first hundred pages (as in, another word for “stupid.” Like: “this conversation is so toilet-licking, I hate it.”) I just…umm…what??

There also wasn’t really a plot. Sometimes a plotless book can be fine…I like being able to simply sit in a character’s head and experience their life. If it’s well-written. But I was very bored with this book. Nothing happened. And the male protagonist came off as really annoying to me with his constant complaining and general immaturity. If there’s nothing going on and the protagonist is unlikable…it’s hard for me to be able to like that kind of book. There’s nothing for me to connect with or enjoy.

Ultimately, while I think that this book had potential — I really liked the idea of alternating perspectives of twins at different ages (one is in the past and one is in the present) — and I appreciate it’s LGBT content, I could not get into this book enough to keep reading. It might’ve somehow ended up being great if I’d managed to get beyond the third chapter, but unfortunately this book and I did not get along.

My Rating 1 Ship

 

Because I didn’t like this book as much as I thought I was going to…I’m now going to be giving away my ARC!

I’m sure that a bunch of you guys will end up loving it so much more than I did. The thing is that it is personalized to me, because I got it at BEA and really thought that I was going to love it, so I hope that doesn’t bother you guys too much.

Rules:

  • US only (sorry!)
  • Runs from August 27th–September 3rd at 11:59pm
  • You must be 13 years or older
  • You will be disqualified if you pick up entries you haven’t done.
  • If the winner does not respond to my e-mail within 48 hours, I will have to choose another winner.
  • I am not responsible for any items lost in the mail.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

9 responses to “I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson {GIVEAWAY & DNF Review}

  1. So sad that you didn’t like this, Miranda! T_T I really loved Jandy’s other book, The Sky is Everywhere. But based on your review… I’m not sure if I’ll like it. 😦 The book I’m reading now has an “immature voice” as well, and I’m waiting for her to develop… I’m still willing to give this one a shot, though, and I really hope I end up loving it.

    Awesome review, girl. (I really wish I lived in the US because that cover is gorgeous and I want it on my shelf!)

    • I haven’t read The Sky is Everywhere yet, but I own it…and I still definitely want to give it a shot. Plus, somebody else I know who DNFed it told me that she liked that one, so I think there’s a good shot that it was just something weird with this book and not something about the author in general.

      Sorry you can’t enter my giveaway 😦 I’ll be doing an international one next month for my blogiversary, though!

  2. Really long chapters are one of the things I hate in books. I just never get why the author chooses to do that. There are lots of places where it could end but it just. keeps. going. Even if the book is good I can’t stand that.

  3. I’m really glad to hear at least one negative review, to be honest. I was starting to get skeptical because of how many raving reviews there were – it almost seemed to good to be true. I’ll make sure I peruse through it in BN before I decide to buy it 🙂 Sorry it didn’t work out for you – but honestly it’s helped me! 😛

  4. Aw, I am sorry that this didn’t work for you! I am not a huge fan of long chapters either (I feel accomplished when I finish one lol). And I definitely don’t love super young characters either. I do still want to read this one (mainly because the synopsis just sounds good, and you know, peer pressure!) but I am definitely going to go into it with fewer expectations (which is a really good thing for me when reading). Thanks for such a great, honest review!

  5. you already know that i totally agree here, but i thought i’d add a few things. these chapters really were HELLA LONG. i couldn’t even. if i’d been loving it, i don’t think the chapters would have bothered me as much. as it was, the long chapters really did make me feel like i was completely stuck. and the weirdness was just TOO MUCH. the voice was a little immature, i agree, but then the actual content was kinda mature at times so the combo was odd. yeah, you read farther than i did but i’m glad we were both able to recognize that it just wasn’t working for us.

    • I think that the long chapters still would’ve bothered me even if I’d been liking the book, haha. The third chapter was like 50 pages long!! That’s just too much.

      I still really want to try her other book, though. I think that it might’ve just been this one that didn’t do it for me.

  6. I’m sorry to say you didn’t enjoy this book. I feel like there has been a lot of mixed reviews on this book. However I’ve read other books by Jandy Nelson and I liked it. So I’m interested on how I will think at the end when I read this book. Will I like it? Or maybe this book isn’t for me? Thank you for this amazing giveaway! I hope I get the chance to read it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

