Help Me Choose a Fairytale Retelling Book to Read! {Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone #3}

Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone #2.jpg

YAY! We’re back for another installation of Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone! I honestly really love doing these posts…it gives me a chance to get some awesome recommendations from you guys and makes my reading almost kinda interactive!

p672959941-3

This month, I’m going to be trying out the genre of fairytale retellings. I’m racking my brain and I can’t think of even one fairytale retelling that I’ve ever read (except maybe Throne of Glass, but I don’t think that really counts, because the first book has almost no Cinderella vibes at all — I’ve heard that part comes later in the series?). I’ve read one regular retelling — Madly, Deeply by Erica Crouch — but that’s about it for me when it comes to any sort of retelling.

fairy,tales,photography,princess,cleaning,architecture,autumn-0c8e619e74d35354854743a5591362ac_h

But I’m extremely interested in the genre! It sounds fun and I really enjoyed my experience with Crouch’s book, so I’m super excited to read my very first fairytale retelling. But which one and I going to read?! There’s so many out there!

Well, in order to keep it simple and easy (and helping me shrink my TBR, which is always a good thing), my choices are going to come from books that I already own. Unfortunately, Cinder isn’t going to be on the list (even though I own the first two books in the Lunar Chronicles series and I’m sure that’s the one everybody is going to want me to read), because I really want to stick tight to my rule about not starting series unless they’re all published. But I promise, I do plan on reading that series as soon as the last book comes out…I can’t wait!!

Alright, here are the choices:

Fairytale Retellings

Fairytale Choices

  1. Beastly by Alex Flinn — A Beauty and the Beast retelling (obviously), set in modern-day New York City, told from the male’s perspective.
  2. Entwined by Heather Dixon — A romantic fantasy retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses.
  3. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson — Set in Neverland, this is a retelling of Peter Pan from Tiger Lily’s point of view.
  4. Ophelia by Lisa M. Klein — Okay, so this one is kind of cheating. Shakespeare definitely didn’t write “fairytales,” but whatever it’s basically the same thing. This book is the story of Hamlet as seen by Ophelia.

 

Okay, well, this is really annoying…Wordpress is not letting me create polls for my posts anymore?! So, if you could please just VOTE IN THE COMMENTS instead, by saying which book I should read, that’d be great!

 

Just in case you’re curious, so far the voting is:

Beastly: 3

Entwined: 0

Tiger Lily: 6

Ophelia: 0

 

 

27 responses to “Help Me Choose a Fairytale Retelling Book to Read! {Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone #3}

  1. Originally I was like CINDERRR but then I read your explanation for not reading it, and my plans were foiled!

    I’ve only read Beastly and Entwined out of the four on yours list. And i LOVED Beastly – definitely one of my favourite retellings but ohmygosh I really did not like Entwined – at all. It’s got instalove and takes forever to tell a story where, really, NOTHING HAPPENS.

    I have skim read parts of Ophelia in the library, trying to decide whether or not I was going to rent it out, and I was not impressed.

    So my vote: Beastly, definitely!

    And I have to add in my own favourite book: Widwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier, which is a very loose retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, and an absolutely precious and amazing book. My favourite ^.^

    • Haha yeah I know that EVERYBODY was going to try to suggest that one, so I figured I’d head you guys off at the pass 😛 (Is that an expression you guys use in Australia? haha)

      Thanks for the vote! And the recommendation! I know that book is your favorite and, because of that, it’s already on my TBR list 😉 I just didn’t include it on the list because I’m trying really hard to read books that I already OWN, because I have WAYYY too many. But I really hope to get to that one soon! 🙂

  2. Honestly, if those are your only choices, you are really missing out by your rule of not starting a series until they are all published. Beastly isn’t that great, neither is Entwined, and although Tiger Lily is amazing I would not classify Peter Pan as a fairy tale. Just read Cinder, it’s what everyone wants to suggest!

    • I promise that I will read the series as soon as it’s finished! I just have such a shitty book memory (like, literally, I will not even be able to remember the MC’s name RIGHT after finishing a book) that it’s not really an option for me to start it right now :/ My rule, although admittedly annoying, is really what works best for me.

      I think it’s interesting that you wouldn’t say that Peter Pan is a fairytale! I didn’t realize people had other opinions about that haha. Is it because of the original being so different from the movie version? Well, even though maybe it’s not “technically” a fairytale retelling, I don’t want to take it out of the running now…I guess I’ll say your vote is for that one? But if it wins, I’ll keep it mind that I really should’ve just read Cinder all along and that Tiger Lily doesn’t really count 😛

  3. I vote for Tiger Lily, I’ve heard some good things about it and am curious to hear what you think of it. I haven’t read that many retellings either, but I don’t think it really is my genre, I do plan on reading Cinder eventually to see if that book might change my opinion.

  4. I’m a HUGE fan of fairytale retellings. I’ve only read one of your choices – Beastly. It’s fun and a really fast read, but I don’t think it’s the best fairytale retelling out there. I’ve heard great things about Entwined, though. I do want to read that one.

    • Which one are you voting for?? 🙂

      Since you’re such a huge fan, do you have any recommendations for ones that aren’t on the list, for future reference? 🙂

      • I feel like I can only vote for Beastly because it’s the only one I’ve read. I definitely liked Beastly, but I don’t think it’s the best fairytale retelling out there, or really representative of it. It’s a really fast read, and since it’s set in our world, there really isn’t any world building.

        Other fairytale retellings I love are Book of a Thousand Days and The Goose Girl, both by Shannon Hale (these books aren’t related), Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine (more middle grade, but so freaking amazing – not like the movie), Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George. Beauty by Robin McKinley (this one takes a little to get into, but then it grabs you and doesn’t let you go). And of course Cinder (and the whole Lunar Chronicles) but I understand wanting to wait until the series is completed.

        I’ve read a lot of other fairytale retellings, but these are the ones that pop into my mind. I do love them, and I hope you like them too. I never seem to be able to get enough of them.

  5. Throne of Glass is a Cinderella retelling? That’s news to me 😛

    Beastly – I’ve seen the movie, and it was shite. Sooo my vote is no on that one.
    Entwined – my sister liked it, but I still haven’t read it, so no comment.
    Tiger Lily – I haven’t read it, but I know a million bloggers have and cried over it too. Probably your best bet I’d say 🙂
    Ophelia – haven’t read it!

    Okay, so I can’t really give a valid opinion here. So why don’t I recommend Cinder by Marissa Meyer? Because I do love that series ^_^ Although Scarlet and Cress are better for sure.

    • You didn’t know that?? I thought you were a mega fan! Shame on you!! 😉

      By “the movie” do you mean Beauty and the Beast…? Or did they do their own movie version of the retelling? 😛 I’m assuming the latter, considering I might have to slap you if you meant the Disney one.

      So……..is your vote for Tiger Lily?? lol. Multiple people are commenting but not voting; this is hilarious to me for some reason.

      It’s okay, I forgive you!! ❤

      • *hides in the corner* OH THE SHAM OF A LIFE I’VE BEEN LIVING.

        The movie version of Beastly haha. I love the Disney one 😉

        Yes, my vote is for Tiger Lily!

  6. The only one I’ve read out of your choices is Tiger Lily and I’m in the minority and didn’t care for it. You can check out my review if you haven’t already. But YES to The Lunar Chronicles when you do get around to it! That will be amazing to binge read!

  7. Ah! I’ve not read any of these >< But I'm super excited to read Tiger Lily (I just got a copy too heehee :D), so I'm partial to that 😉 So since you're not for Cinder (which I'm halfway through… SO GOOD!!!) I say all go for Tiger Lily 😀 Have fun, Miranda! ^^

  8. So, I’ve read both Entwined and Tiger Lily. I liked both. Tiger Lily was more memorable (and seems to be more loved), but I think I had a few issues with it. And I read Entwined pre-blogging, so I can’t say for sure what I thought because I wrote nothing about it so it doesn’t exist in my mind anymore. Ha!

    However, I would actually like to offer a few recommendations:

    Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine – Another comment has mentioned this one, and I’ll second it. I actually just re-read it a few days ago. It’s really nothing like the movie. Such a great book with a feisty heroine and a great love story.

    The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine – So I didn’t love this one, but it was really intriguing. It’s adult fiction retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses (same as Entwined) but set during 1920s Jazz Age. Setting was great!

    While Beauty Slept by Elizabeth Blackwell – Another book that I didn’t really love but was such an interesting take on Sleeping Beauty. It’s written as if the fairy tale had really happened. So no magic or any of that – everything is realistic and tied to historical time period in which its set.

    The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey – I don’t know if this counts, but it IS a retelling of a Russian tale called “The Snow Maiden.” I really loved this book. It’s slower, heavier and a little somber but the writing was gorgeous and the story was moving.

    • Haha I feel the same way about books I read pre-blogging.

      Thanks for the other recommendations!

      I think I’ll probably have to re-read Ella Enchanted at some point. I’m pretty sure I read it in like 6th grade, but I remember absolutely nothing about it. I know a lot of people love it, though, so I think it’ll be worth it.

      I really want to read The Girls at the Kingfisher Club! I obviously love historical fiction, so I think that one would be perfect for me. I’m going to try to get to it soon 🙂

      Hmm I’ll have to check those last two out. They don’t sound familiar, so I’m not sure if they’re already on my TBR list. Thanks so much for this long and helpful comment! I love getting great recommendations from the people who’ve read more books than I have in these genres.

  9. Pingback: BOoMCZ Wrap-Up (#3): Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson |·

Leave a Reply

