The Returned by Jason Mott {Book Review & TV Show Comparison}

17182421

The Returned BI

add-to-goodreads-button My Review

I have really mixed feelings about this book. On one hand, I want to applaud it for being so different and intriguing and giving me lots of things to think about. It’s a book that has a deep emotional impact if you really take the time to think about a lot of the issues brought up in it. But on the other hand, it also had a hard time keeping my attention. While I was interested in what was happening, it took me a really long time to read it because it just wasn’t very engrossing and I was honestly kind of bored.

I think that the biggest problem with this book was how little character development there was. I wanted to get to know and like these characters, but I always felt like they were at a distance. We didn’t learn too much about any of them — there just wasn’t a lot of depth — so I had trouble connecting with any of them on an emotional level.

I thought that it’d be sort of interesting if I talked about how this book was turned into the TV Show Resurrection. I’ve watched the first season and I have to say that I’m pretty into the show! Honestly, I like it a lot more than I liked the book. They seemed to have changed a lot of things about it, though. But to give some credit to the book, I actually don’t get why they named the TV show “Resurrection.” I really like “The Returned” for the name a lot more! Especially after something specific that happens in Season One, it’s obvious that a “resurrection” truly isn’t what’s going on here…it’s a lot more complicated than that. I think “The Returned” just fits a lot better! And I know it’s kind of hard to tell about how actors fit the characters if you’ve seen the adaption first, but I was pretty impressed by how great of a job they did with casting. I wouldn’t change even one of the actors in Resurrection; they’re all perfect!

So ultimately, while the show is definitely better than the book, I think that the book still has its merits. Themes like racism, love, spirituality, parenthood, and morality are just a few of the issues that this book brings up, and I enjoyed being able to think about all of those things in a way that I’d never considered them before. I’d recommend this book to fans of Steven King’s Under the Dome, because it kind of reminded me of that concept, and people who are interested in spiritual (not necessarily religious) discussion.

“And for eight years she was a mother with a son. And then for fifty years she was a wife, a Baptist, a lover of words, but not a mother. Too much time passed between her two lives. But now, Jacob was time beaten into defeat. He was time out of sync, time more perfect than it had been. He was life the way it was supposed to be all those years ago. That’s what all the Returned were, she realized just then.”

My Rating 2.5 Ships

 

Leave a Reply

