The Post-War 1940s {Historical Fiction Spotlight}

Historical Fiction Spotlight Header

Post-War 1940s

Ship of Brides

Blind Assassin

Secret Keeper

Heading Out to Wonderful

Guernsey

Evergreen

A Town Like Alice

Lolita

Anchor Separator

On this list, I’ve read both Lolita and The Secret Keeper — both are amazing. Kate Morton is probably the best historical thriller writer out there, and Lolita is one of my all-time favorite books. It’s technically a modern classic (not really historical fiction), I guess, but it’s still about this time period and it was published at a later time than when it’s set (but only by a few years), so I still think it kinda counts. Plus, it’s Lolita, so it just belongs on every list 😛

Of the ones that I haven’t read, I’m most excited about trying out The Ship of Brides and The Blind Assassin — although, honestly, all of them look really good!

 

Have you read any of these? Which one are you most interested in picking up?

 

6 responses to “The Post-War 1940s {Historical Fiction Spotlight}

    • Thanks for letting me know! I don’t think I’ve talked to somebody who’s read it before…now I’m even more excited! I hope I’ll be able to get to it soon.

  1. I haven’t read The Secret Keeper but I have read another Kate Morton book, The Distant Hours. Have you read that one? If so, which did you like better? I think I would like to read something else by her someday since The Distant Hours was pretty intriguing.

    • Yay I like this question!!

      Actually, I rated both 5 stars! I really liked them both a lot. It’s been a while since I’ve read either of them…but I think that I kind of remember liking The Secret Keeper more. I thought that the mystery was really intriguing! If it helps, The Secret Keeper actually has a higher rating than The Distance Hours on Goodreads, too (4.11 vs. 3.84). Let me know what you think if you decide to read it!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Aug 10-16, 2014 | Oh, the Books!·

Leave a Reply

