Mid-Year Book Freakout

large

I found out about this survey through Books for Delicate Eternity, and once I saw the original post from A Book So Fathomless, I knew that I had to do this, too!

It’s basically a summer glimpse into how your reading has been going for the first 6 months of the year, and creates a basis for those end-of-the-year surveys that are so popular.

Anchor Separator

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2014.

Ahhh this is SO HARD. 14 books have made it onto my favorites shelf so far, so I have a lot to choose from! Can I give my top 3? Because I seriously can’t choose between them. I’m going to make up my own rules and say that I can. My top 3 books from 2014 so far are (in order of when I read them):

  1. Me Since You by Laura Weiss
  2. I Shall Be Near to You by Erin Lindsay McCabe
  3. Crash Into You by Katie McGarry

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2014.

13188676

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (with Ruin and Rising obviously being a very close second!).

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

18679391

Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy: Four Women Undercover in the Civil War by Karen Abbott

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

17453303

Glory O’Brien’s History of the FutureI read and loved Ask the Passengers earlier this year, so I’m super excited for her new release!

5. Biggest disappointment.

16247792

Gabriel’s Redemption by Sylvain Reynard. Even just looking at this cover makes me want to throw up. I’m still so mad!

6. Biggest surprise.

18189606

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. This has been the easiest question so far. I really didn’t think that I was going to like the one…but I adored it!

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

20026466

Hands down, Erin Lindsay McCabe (author of I Shall be Near to You)! Not only is her book absolutely AMAZING (like, seriously, if you haven’t read it, you’re super missing out…and we might have to suspend our friendship until you get your act together), but she’s SO SWEET and is a big-time goat lover. Ummmmm, so yeah, she’s an A+ author for me. I mean, basically all she really had to do was own goats in the first place, but having written a kick-ass book and being really nice are totally bonus points.

8. Newest fictional crush.

18667779

Okay, not gonna lie, I have a serious thing for Emi from Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour. She’s mine and you can’t have her! But, just for fun, if I haaaad to pick a boy, it would definitely be Frank from Since You’ve Been Gone.

9. Newest favorite character.

Out of EVERY CHARACTER IN EVERY BOOK I’VE READ THIS YEAR?! You’ve got to be kidding me right?? Okay, no. I’m doing top 5 on this one, sorry.

  1. Cecile from Stolen Songbird
  2. Adrian from Bloodlines
  3. Isaiah from Crash Into You
  4. Sophie from Sunshine
  5. Juliette from Ignite Me

10. Book that made you cry.

13446655

Cat Daddy by Jackson Galaxy. Oh man, this one got me good.

11. Book that made you happy.

17978160

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord. This was such a happy book!

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year. 

MV5BMTU0NDgxNDg0NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjE4MzkwOA@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_

Hmmm. This is kind of hard to answer only because I’m having trouble remembering which book-to-movie adaptations I saw this year. I know I saw The Silver Linings Playbook, but I’d actually seen it for the first time last year, so I’m not sure if that counts even though it’s an awesome movie. I also saw the Delirium TV show (which was obviously horrible) and the Vampire Academy movie that was decent. I still haven’t seen The Fault in Our Stars because I’m waiting for it to come out on Blu-Ray. Ooh I just remembered that I saw Anna Karenina a couple months ago…I think I’m going to have to go with that one!

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year.

18404427

Uhhh…I have absolutely no idea. I’ve written like 140 reviews this year, so it’s kind of hard to pick a favorite haha. Can we just go with my most popular one then? That would be my review for China Dolls by Lisa See.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

18667779

I know I already showed this one, but I’m obsessed with the cover for Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

The books I’m most looking forward to reading by the end of the year are: The Saint by Tiffany Reisz, After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid, The Walled City by Ryan Graudin, Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult, and The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black.

 

Just for fun, answer one of the questions of the survey in the comments!

 

3 responses to “Mid-Year Book Freakout

  1. I definitely agree that Me Since You is one of the best from this year so far 😀 THAT BOOK ❤

    And I'm pretty sure that Everything Leads to You is one of the prettiest books I've gotten this year too, but I really like the cover for Ignite Me as well.

Leave a Reply

