TV Shows I Really Need to Start Watching (Including Fall 2014 Debuts)

Okay, so I’m kind of obsessed with TV.

I feel like I don’t even spend that much time watching it (not usually more than 2 hours a day, and sometimes not even that much!), and I never would’ve described myself that way before I talked about it with other people and realized “…wow, I watch a lot more TV than everybody else.” But apparently I’m a bit of a fanatic! 😉

I do have to admit…there are a lot of shows that I am currently watching and/or keeping up with.

Currently Watch

Sister Wives
Rookie Blue
So You Think You Can Dance
The Bachelor
The Bachelorette
MasterChef
Glee
Castle
Parenthood
Blue
America’s Next Top Model
House
Grey’s Anatomy
Revenge
New Girl
Switched At Birth
Scandal
Pretty Little Liars
Ink Master
Preacher’s Daughters
Shark Tank
Project Runway
Resurrection
Teen Mom 2
Faking It
Catfish
16 and Pregnant
Are You the One?
Dance Moms
Firefly
Mad Men
Game of Thrones
The Last Ship
The Wire

That’s 34 shows!!

Is that crazy…? Or do you guys watch that much TV, too?

None of these are even the “I’ll watch an episode if it happens to be on” type of shows (I didn’t even try to count those ones, too) — all 34 are shows that I make a point to see every single episode of.

I’m not sure exactly how it works that I’m able to keep up with all of these shows and not be watching 10 hours of TV a day. One of the things that really helps is that, a lot of the time, I’m multitasking. I’ll eat while watching TV, work while watching a show on Hulu on my phone, or sometimes blog with Netflix in the background. It’s very rare that I’m just sitting there watching TV and doing nothing else.

It also helps that some of these shows are Fall-Spring, some are only in the Summer, and others are only in the Spring, etc. Because of that, currently I’m completely caught up with 19 out of the 34. So, technically, I guess I’m only really watching 15 shows right now. That doesn’t sound nearly as bad as 34! And some of them — like House — Brent and I are watching together and we only watch, like, one episode every couple of weeks (he’s seen the entire series and I’ve seen about 2/3 of it — we’re just re-watching it all from the beginning for fun).

But — and this is the whole point of this post — there are a ton more shows that I really want to start watching!

TV Shows

Orphan Black
Supernatural
Orange is the New Black
Fringe
The Fosters
Twisted
Heroes
The Vampire Diaries
One Tree Hill
Borgia
Nip/Tuck
Rescue Me
Lipstick Jungle
Ugly Betty
The Tudors
Damages
United States of Tara
Army Wives
Delirium
American Horror Story
Veronica Mars
The Good Wife
House of Cards

Not to mention those 2014–15 season debuts I’m keeping an eye on…

TV Debuts

Madam Secretary
A to Z
American Crime
The Mysteries of Laura
The Astronaut Wives Club
Bad Judge 
Battle Creek
Cristela
Emerald City
Empire
Forever
Fresh Off the Boat
Gracepoint
How to Get Away With Murder
Jane the Virgin
Manhattan Love Story

Olive Kitteridge
One Big Happy
Proof
Public Morals
Red Band Society
Scorpion
Secrets & Lies
State of Affairs
Utopia
The Whispers
Your Family or Mine

Click here for the whole list of 2014–15 premieres! I probably won’t end up seriously watching all of these (god I hope not haha, that would be a lot of TV!), but I’ll probably watch at least a few episodes of each to figure out which ones I’ll be adding to my rotation permanently.

 

Am I missing any good ones that I should be watching? What are your favorite shows that you’re currently in the middle of?

 

 

26 responses to “TV Shows I Really Need to Start Watching (Including Fall 2014 Debuts)

  1. I’m not a big TV person and I’m in awe of how many shows you fit it. When I do watch a show, I binge watch and will watch 3 or 4 episodes together or until my eyes get tired! My fav show is Game of Thrones and I started True Detective last weekend and I think I’ll love that one.
    I also love Sherlock, Nashvilke, Smash and Homeland.

    • I honestly don’t know how I do it haha. I can’t binge watch shows, though. I wish I could! I have trouble sitting still and paying attention for that long…I’m not even good with movies.

      Nashville is one that I at one point started, stopped, and now want to get back into.

  2. I love TV, too, although I tend to binge watch seasons. There aren’t many shows that I watch as the are aired. SYTYCD is one of them, though! Love that show. And also, when it starts airing again, Doctor Who. I’m really excited for Gracepoint, too. I’ve watched the British original (Broadchurch) and loved it, and since David Tennant will also be in Gracepoint, I can’t miss it.

    I used to watch One Tree Hill a lot, but I haven’t watched it in years. It is a fun show though. And you must watch Veronica Mars! It’s only three seasons.

    • I really want to watch Veronica Mars soon! It’s high up on my list.

      For some reason, though, I really dislike watching British shows. I don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I just can’t do it haha. I think it’s the accents or something — it throws me off.

      I wish I could binge watch! I have a really hard time sitting still and paying attention to TV for more than episode (I sometimes have trouble with movies, too). But occasionally if I’m REALLY hooked, I just can’t help myself. That happened a couple of times with Dexter or Breaking Bad where Brent and I watched like 3 or 4 episodes in a row one night.

  3. I am in utter amazement at your list, Miranda! Haha. I have comparatively few TV shows that I (semi) keep up with. I usually forget about them when they’re on but when I do swatch, it’s a TV marathon. Haha. But I don’t usually do nothing either. I’ll spend that time looking through my Feedly, comment on blogs, edit photos, arrange the digital files on my laptop, etc.

    My all-time favourite show has got to be Gilmore Girls. Sadly a lot of the shows that I enjoyed were discontinued, like Pushing Daisies, Bunheads and more recently, Suburgatory. Aside from those, Chiara got me started on Merlin. I’m planning to start S03 for that soon.

    Current shows I watch are Switched at Birth (binge-watched S03 last week, so I’m actually up to date now!), Once Upon A Time (I am wayyy behind), MasterChef, Awkward, and New Girl. I also watch So You Think You Can Dance but only because my sister and mum watch it.

    • GILMORE GIRLS! ❤ I've seen the whole thing twice. Amazing show, I loved it so much.

      Oh my god, I'm so hooked on Switched at Birth, too! I still need to catch up on the current season, but it's soooo addicting haha 🙂 And now I know who I can talk to about it!

      Brent and I watched all of MasterChef, but then for some reason we're now having trouble getting into the current season. We watched a few episodes, but I don't know if we're going to keep going :/

      I haven't seen Awkward, but I'm always seeing commercials for it on MTV when I watch other shows, so it makes me really want to watch it haha. It's good?

      • I absolutely love Switched at Birth. I like the diversity in the cast that the show brings without drawing attention to it so much like, ‘Hey! Check me out, I’m so progressive, I don’t discriminate based on race, religion, (dis)ability, etc.’ And all the plot twists! I can’t help but come back for more.

        I think Awkward is hilarious awkward. The name is so spot-on, I can’t help but cringe when bad stuff happens. Haha. But it’s entertaining, so I’d say give it a go to see if it’s your kinda show. Then again, you’re already watching so very many! I can’t say if it’s something you’d enjoy because you’ve got so many different types of shows going on.

  4. Whoa that is a lot! I feel like I watch quite bit of TV as well but most of them are reality shows which I don’t feel the need to watch consistently or sequentially. I just pop in whenever and though I would like to keep on track with them, I don’t bother ever. Except for Hell’s Kitchen and Masterchef and The Amazing Race and all those singing competition shows. Those, I love and will never ever miss an episode of. And oyy, just looking at your list of shows makes me realize how many I need to catch up on/start. I think the only shows I’m totally caught up on are New Girl and Once Upon a Time. But it’s good that it’s summer haha because I can just stream Netflix 24/7! 🙂

  5. Oh my god you watch Firefly. I knew there was a reason I loved you ❤

    I need to figure out a way to watch GoT now that my free HBO thing expired… I’m too cheap to pay for it.

    I don’t think I even want to list all the tv shows I watch. Although I think it’s mostly rewatching that I do, and binge watching. I’m a fantastic binger. I always have the TV running in the background, especially when I’m working at home. Sometimes I have 4-6 hours of grading to do, so I just turn on Netflix and BOOM half a season is done 😉

    Your to-watch list: I agree with Orphan Black (I need to watch it too), SUPERNATURAL, and Orange is the New Black. YESSSS

    • We’re like 5 episodes into Firefly now. It’s not my faaaavorite TBH, but I’m liking it more as the season goes on. I don’t know how I’ve never seen it before, though…I’m a huge Joss Whedon fan.

      • For a second I read that as “I’m NOT a Joss Whedon fan” and I about had a heart attack. Sidenote: Whedon did Avengers 😉 *hint hint*

      • *rolls eyes*

        FINE. Jeez, you just do not give up, woman 😛 I’ll put it on my Netflix queue. Is that the one I’m starting with? I feel like I’ve asked you this question like three times and I keep forgetting your answer lol. Tell me one more time and I swear I’ll put it in my queue right now

      • Okay it’s officially in my Netflix queue! Brent doesn’t want to watch it with me (he’s seen it), but I’ll try to watch it soon. I’m worried that I won’t like it because I’m not a Robert Downy Jr. fan, but I’m going to watch it anyway JUST FOR YOU 😉

      • That’s hard! I’m not really a movie person…and I have no idea which ones you’ve seen or not seen.

        Okay let me just list a few of my favorite ones, and then if you haven’t seen one of them, it can be that one lol (if it’s on Netflix? I have the DVD option, I’m not sure if you do. See, I’m not sure exactly how this works, because there were NO RULES involved and I will fully admit to you that I’m completely incapable of “flying by the seat of my pants” in any way possible. Even with movie recommendations 😛 ) So, in no particular order, I like these ones:

        – Mean Girls
        – Dirty Dancing
        – Titanic
        – The Notebook
        (wow my list is so cliché, let’s keep going…)
        – Wedding Crashers
        – The Heat
        – Clueless
        – Save the Last Dance
        – RENT
        – Walk the Line

        Okay I’m running out of movies and this list just took me like 10 minutes to come up with, because a list of favorite movies is probably literally the ONLY running list that I don’t keep for myself and I’m embarrassingly bad at remembering stuff like that off the top of my head.

        So….do with this what you will… Now that I’ve bared my soul and all of my flaws to you 😛

      • Okay, I’ve watched the top four except Dirty Dancing (what even is that about?), and I loved all three, no matter how cliche 😛 I can never watch the Notebook without sobbing at the end! Same goes for the band scene with Titanic… oh my god *wailing*

        Hmm I’ve seen The Heat, but haven’t even heard of the rest. Okay, I shall attempt to watch the Wedding Crashers! Maybe, if that’s the one I think it is

      • YOU HAVEN’T SEEN DIRTY DANCING???????

        No. You’re watching that one. You will watch Dirty Dancing and report back to me immediately!

        But Wedding Crashers is also good. Mostly because Rachel McAdams is in it and I’m in love with her. But also because it’s hilarious. I’ve seen it like 5 times!

    • I’ve been a huge fan of hers for like 15 years! I’m so happy that she finally got her own show…that one’s definitely on the very top of my list!

Leave a Reply

