New Blog Design!

WOOHOO!!! I’m so, so, so excited to present to you……the new and improved Tempest Books!

Screen Shot 2014-06-27 at 2.18.53 PM

 

As you can see, there’s a shiny new header — designed by yours truly — that I’m absolutely in love with! I didn’t hate my old header, but I’d just gotten kind of bored with it, to be honest. It was cutesy and feminine, which is definitely “me,” but I wanted something a little bit more…fun. And also something that was more thematic with my brand.

The name of my blog is Tempest Books because I was actually named after one of the characters in the Shakespeare play The Tempest, which (from what I’ve gathered — I unfortunately haven’t read it yet, but it’s on my Books To Read Before I Die list!) is about people traveling on a boat that goes through a storm.

The word tempest in general means a violent storm, and it’s often associated with the ocean. So my little anchor motif that I’ve been using around the blog (like for my star ratings and in my old header) is definitely fitting, but it wasn’t quite as bold and in-your-face in regards to being in line with the title of my blog, so I decided to change that!

So now, in the header, there’s some waves and ships and a cool font that very vaguely gives me a nautical vibe. And I redesigned my follow buttons as well! They’re now photos in circles instead of the written-out words like I had before, and each button is surrounded by some rope. I also added Pinterest and Instagram buttons, which I didn’t previously have. I love them!

Screen Shot 2014-06-27 at 2.54.54 PM

Another change I made was now I also have a favorite quote (which I will change weekly) underneath my “currently reading” and “up next” books in the right sidebar.

Screen Shot 2014-06-27 at 2.55.25 PM

I also decided to change my profile picture to a more updated version (it’s this new one now on Twitter as well, so you can hopefully still recognize me!).

tempestbooks_1403152607_62

And, lastly, I also decided to revamp my star rating icons and make them ships instead of anchors! I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, because I thought that it was a little hard to tell how many stars I was giving something with the old pictures, so I’m hoping this will fix that problem. Some of my already scheduled reviews for the next few weeks might still have anchors, but I will start integrating the ship icons into new reviews from now on.

3.5 Ships

 

So how do you like all of my changes?? I’m dying to hear your opinion 😀

 

17 responses to “New Blog Design!

  1. LOVE all the changes! I think the header is super fun – and I love the colors. My favorite thing though is reading your explanation for it. I like how it all ties together from your name and that you took that and worked it into your theme throughout your blog. It gives it such a greater meaning and I appreciate it more for that reason, I think. Oh, and the quote thing is cute too! I never collect quotes or have favorite quotes or anything myself because I just don’t pay that much attention, so I always am jealous of others who do.

    • Thanks!! 🙂

      It’s good to know that somebody appreciates my thought process haha. I just wanted everybody to know why I was changing it up, because I feel like my blog name is (at least somewhat) unique and I’m not sure that everybody knows what a tempest is, or has read that play, or knows that I feel personally connected to that word because of my name. I was kind of hoping that, by explaining it all, people would feel more connected to the blog and would better understand it, myself, and the changes 🙂

      I’m really not a huge quote collector or anything haha — I’m jealous of those people, too — but occasionally one will just strike me and I’ll have to bookmark it. And I wanted to DO something with those kinds of quotes, because what’s the point of taking the time to write it down or whatever if you’re not going to use it in any way?

      Thanks for commenting, Asti 🙂 I always love hearing from you!

    • Hahaha. I was actually thinking about that as I was making my header. Like the ships could be symbolic for the ships I have in books as well 😉 And then the ratings are like…how much do I SHIP this book? haha. Oh my god there are going to be so many amazing nautical puns involved. I think that I should probably start each blog post with “G’day matey!” from now on. That just seems like the right thing to do.

  2. Ohhh I love it all! Especially the rating images – they’re so unique! And your little buttons are so cute 😀 And of course I love your face as well 😉

  3. Eek, I love it when I see bloggers change designs! I, however, can’t seem to. I tried recently and went running back to my old one… I am way too sentimental for my own good. Anyways…

    This blog design is sooo pretty and fun to look at! I didn’t notice the ships at first, but when I did I got all smiley– they are so cute! Although, they look like they are getting beaten up by the waves… How dare you put those poor ships through such trauma, Miranda!

    And you look so pretty in that picture! The girl with the paper bag over her head (forever and always, probably) approves 😀

    • Thank you!!

      Haha they’re SUPPOSED to be getting beat up by the waves…they’re in a tempest!

      I like your little girl with the paper bag. I feel like it would be weird if you changed it because I’ve gotten so used to it lol

  4. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Jun 22-28, 2014 | Oh, the Books!·

  5. Oooh I love it! 😀 I read The Tempest at school and I never thought of the connection between your name and the blog name – that’s so clever!

    Love the little ship ratings too 🙂

    • Thank you!! 🙂

      Yeah I figured that it was about time I explain what the heck is going on with my blog name haha. I can’t believe that I’ve never actually read The Tempest. I feel kind of embarrassed for myself. But I definitely will at some point! I’ll probably do something special on my blog when I do, since it’ll be kind of cool 🙂

Leave a Reply

