Unravel by Calia Reed {Book Review}

16466436

Title: Unravel

Author: Calia Reed

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Self-published

Publication Date: 2-15-14

Pages: 362

Genre: New Adult, Psychological Thriller

Source: Bought

Goodreads

 

Six months ago, I was happy. I was simply Naomi Carradine. 

One month ago, I was admitted into a psych ward. 

Yesterday, Lachlan visited me. Kissed me. And told me that I’m starting to lose my mind. 

Hours later, Max haunted my thoughts, reminding me I’m not crazy and that he needs my help. 

A few minutes ago, I drifted further from reality, trying to unravel the past. 

And now…everyone thinks I’m insane. But, I know he’s real, and I know he needs me. 

Do you believe me?

 

My Review

Wow! Such a crazy ending! Unravel was one of the April 2014 books for my New Adult book club, Swoon-worth and Delicious and I had such a great time reading it. I really enjoyed the combination of the New Adult and psychological thriller genres. I had a little bit of trouble getting into the book at the start, but after about 40% of the way through, I just couldn’t put it down and read the rest all in one sitting.

“She stared solemnly at me, never answering. We were the same age. Our eyes should reflect that. But hers showed she had lived a lifetime filled with more darkness than light, more tears than smiles, and more brutality than happiness.” 

Unravel is such a crazy read, and even though you kind of know while reading the book that there’s going to be some kind of weird ending or a mystery revealed, I was still totally surprised by what ended up happening and did not see it coming at all! I especially love reading books about unreliable narrators, too. I actually had a hard time deciding whether Naomi was an unreliable narrator while reading the book, but as the book went on it became clear whether or not her story was really the whole truth. Everything slowly unfolded as Naomi’s story traveled back and forth between the past and present — I guess “Unravel” is actually a really good name for the title! I loved how everything was laid out and then — BAM — all at once it came together and made complete sense. 

Besides the thriller aspects of the book, I also really enjoyed the romance. Naomi has two love interests, but I found myself being drawn to both of them for most of the book, instead of just one. More and more about both Max and Lachlan is slowly revealed as the story continued, and eventually I started to really root for Lachlan and Naomi’s relationship the most. They were so sweet together and I adored the flashback sections of them together as kids.

“I’m still writing. But I don’t think it’s going to go anywhere.” “Are you going to let me read one?” I blushed. “No.” I knew what my stories were. Love letters to Lachlan. In every single story, he was my muse for the hero. When I wrote, when I imagined, my heart bled out a piece of the truth. 

I really liked pretty much everything about this novel, but I do have to say that the ending was slightly confusing re: Max and Lachlan. I can’t really go in detail without giving away major spoilers, but while I ended the book feeling satisfied with how it all turned out, I’m still kind of scratching my head about one thing that I don’t really understand. But overall it’s a small detail that’s not bothering me too much.

I also didn’t connect with Naomi as much as I wanted to. I think that part of that was just the nature of the story, because it’s hard to connect with somebody who’s going through a stint in a mental hospital since, unless you’ve been there, you can’t really relate. And, after understanding how everything fits together, it makes more sense why Naomi is so aloof. But it was something that I missed out on in this novel, and I think that it probably could’ve been written slightly differently so that she was a little bit more rounded out. We don’t know much about Naomi besides her feelings for Lachlan and Max. We get to hear her life story, but her personality doesn’t really shine through besides the fact that she’s scared and doesn’t really understand what’s happening to her.

But ultimately this book was a really great read that I would definitely recommend to New Adult/psychological thriller fans, and I’m so glad that it was the choice for the book club!

 

My Rating 4 Anchors

Leave a Reply

