How My Reading Has Changed Because of Blogging

I’ve always been a reader. Before blogging, I read the most out of all my friends, by far. But I was still only finishing a very small number of books each month (maybe 1-2?). During college, I had a hard time reading for pleasure since I was doing so much reading for school. I was burnt out on words!

But as soon as I joined Goodreads in January of 2012, I noticed that the rate at which I was finishing books was starting to dramatically increase. And I was reading even more books by the time I finally started book blogging in September of 2013.

Since my reading has changed so dramatically over the past two years, I thought that it might be fun to take a look at just how big of a difference Goodreads and blogging has really made on my reading lifestyle.

 

What I Read in 2012:

In 2012, I read 58 books that had a total of 23,405 pages.

pieChart_jpg

 Mostly I read Adult literature!

 pieChart_jpg copy

In Young Adult, Adult, and New Adult combined…these are all the genres I read! I thought it was interesting that, out of all eight YA books I read…all of them were dystopians! Also notable is the fact that I had no DNFs and didn’t read any novellas, either.

What I Read in 2013:

In 2013, I read 156 books that had a total of 54,954 pages. That means I more than doubled the amount I read in 2012!

Screen Shot 2014-05-09 at 3.50.42 PM Here’s a chart showing my page counts for each month in 2013. You can definitely see that they’re increasing!

pieChart_jpg copy 3Wow, a HUGE difference from 2012! The amount of Young Adult books I read drastically increased. I was actually surprised how much adult was still in there, though! In my head, I kind of imagine myself as being a “YA reader,” while clearly the charts don’t lie.

 

pieChart_jpg copy 2While I’d say this chart is equally as dispersed between different genres as in 2012 (I don’t predominantly read only one or two genres), this time around there are more genres, and there’s also a change in what I seemed to be preferring. In 2012, my most-read genres were (in order) romance, mystery/thriller, and classics. But in 2013, my most-read genres were paranormal, romance, and dystopian. Clearly I still like me some good sex scenes…but apparently I was pretty into vampires and aliens last year, too.

 

Looking Forward to 2014:

We’re 5 months into 2014, and I can already say that this year is going to be even stronger than last year! I’m sure that, at some point, there will be a natural stopping point…I can’t keep increasing my reading amount every single year. Eventually it just wouldn’t be possible to read more. But I’m slowly gaining my stride and figuring out what works for me, as somebody whose goal is to complete A LOT of books in their lifetime.

As you can see from the charts, I’m definitely becoming increasingly interested in reading YA. And in 2014, I’ve been straying away from Adult lit even more. But I think that I’ll always have eclectic tastes. I just naturally like to read books from a lot of different genres, and I’ve found books that I love in each one!

It’s so cool to take a look back and see how far I’ve come in the past two years, and how much blogging and being a Goodreads member has affected my reading…in both speed and genre. I’ve even branched out and read some novellas, graphic novels, and audiobooks since I started blogging! I love how it’s helped me break out of my reading shell.

What about you…how has blogging changed your reading habits? Do your reading stats increase each year or have you found a happy medium?

8 responses to “How My Reading Has Changed Because of Blogging

  1. I love your pie charts! I have to say this topic makes me slightly depressed because I really miss just reading for pleasure and picking up whatever book I want to. But I’m so bogged down with review books that I just can’t seem to do that. Plus I used to read a ton of adult literature, like you did, but I never do anymore because of the focus of my blog. And I really miss it! I’m still working on finding a balance but it’s hard:-(

    • Thanks! 🙂 I love charts too, haha.

      I can definitely understand where you’re coming from. I’ve heard a lot of bloggers say that same things as you. Personally, I try to stay away from review books when I can, because of that reason. I’ve seen what they’ve done to certain bloggers, and I don’t want to get to a place where I’m bogged down and depressed by reading. I want it to say fun 🙂 But I can see how easy it is to sort of get sucked down the rabbit hole. As of right now, I’m trying to only read maybe 2-3 review books each month, so that I still have plenty of time to read whatever else I want. Plus, I only post 1-2 book reviews a week, so it’s not even like I need to read a ton in order to keep the blog going. So I also feel like it’s a lot different for bloggers who want to post a lot of reviews each week…they kind of need those review books, so it would make sense that they’d more easily get bogged down by them.

      I still feel like I read quite a bit of adult lit. But I’ll be interested to see how many YA vs. Adult books I’ll read this year, because it was still pretty balanced last year, but I bet it won’t be for 2014, because I’ve definitely been reading more and more YA.

  2. Pingback: Week in Review | The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!·

  3. Oh this was really interesting! I have a similar discussion post in the works about how blogging has impacted the way I read, but it won’t have all these fancy pie charts and such. So cool to see the breakdown! The one HUGE thing I know we have in common – reading more young adult than ever I ever did before blogging. And I’m similar in that I have super eclectic taste in books (at least, I think I do). The books I pick or that interest me are across a wide variety of genres!

    • That’s why I like your blog so much…I feel like we have pretty similar tastes. YA and (both adult and YA) historical fiction are favorites of mine, as well as yours. I’m always interested in the books that you review. I think that looking at how reading as changed before and after blogging is so cool. I really like those kinds of posts…I’m excited to read yours 🙂

  4. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Jun 8-14, 2014 | Oh, the Books!·

  5. I love that you have those figures as it gives you such an in depth glance at your reading habits. I only joined GR in 2013 so I don’t have earlier stats. I know I’m reading more though and last year I read more YA than any other genre. This year I’m back to mixing it up a lot more. Like you I like to jump around the genres, it’s more fun that way!

    I’m always a bit scared that blogging will make me read too fast and take away some of the pleasure so I’ve gotten really strict on how many arc/review books I take on. I just don’t want to feel I’m under pressure and have to speed read.

    • I definitely feel the same way! I try to limit my review books A LOT. I don’t want to become one of those bloggers who begins to kind of resent reading because of all that pressure. I would say that about 90% of the books I read just for me 😀 And I like it that way! I don’t ever want this hobby to feel like a chore.

Leave a Reply

