Book Haul (#17): Local Used Bookstore (10 books!)

IMG_7970

 

Eee! Look at all these beauuuutiful books 😀 I made out like a bandit at my last trip to my local used bookstore!

 

  • The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan: When I walked in the store and saw these books…I was SO HAPPY. I haven’t read this series yet, but obviously I’ve been hearing amazing amazing things about it for years. And the store just happened to have a complete set? Oh man. I lucked out. I can’t wait to get started!
  • Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain: I’m actually not a huge fan of Bourdain’s, but I know that he’s a great writer and his stories are often interesting, so I decided to pick this up, after having his books be recommended to me by many people.
  • The Paris Wife by Paula McLain: This one’s been on my TBR list for a while now, because so many people have said how amazing it is. And who am I to pass up on some good 1920s European historical fiction?
  • I Am Not Myself These Days by Josh Kilmer-Purcell: This nonfiction memoir has been on my TBR list for a while, so I decided to pick it up when I saw it at the bookstore. I probably won’t end up reading this one for a while, but it always feels good to add something from my “to-read” shelf to my “TBR already own” shelf on Goodreads.
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins: I’ve read this one (obviously lol), but I’ve really been wanting to get some nice hardcover copies of the series, so when I saw this one just lying there, begging for a home, I knew that I had to have it! 🙂

 

When you’re at the bookstore, do you ever snag copies of books you’ve already read but want to own a copy of, or do you stick with all new-to-you books?

 

5 responses to “Book Haul (#17): Local Used Bookstore (10 books!)

  1. Oh man, a whole set of the PJ books?? LUCKY! I bought the box on Amazon for fairly cheap, but it wasn’t as magical as stumbling upon something like that 😛 And that Mockingjay book looks pristine – awesome find! I wish I had used bookstores where I live D: See! Just another reason for me to visit you 😀

    • I know, I was so lucky to find such a perfect copy! I swear, the hallelujah chorus started up the second I found it 😛 Now I just need to find the first two and complete my set! I probably should’ve just splurged and got the box set, but I’m up for the challenge haha

      Have you read the PJ series yet? I feel like I’ll end up just marathoning them all at some point.

      Oh my god. I would die if you came to visit me haha. I wish!!! There would be so much fangirling and flailing 😀

      • Ah but buying the set takes out all the fun of the hunt! I’ll never forget the time I found a perfect-condition, BN Deluxe version of TFiOS at my used bookstore (which is now shut down – forever crying about that). It was like 9 bucks and I had a full on fangirl moment in the aisle xD

        I read them sometime last year, and I binge read all of them. It’s the best way to do it, I think, especially since they’re pretty short and very easy to read! Plus, they’re hilarious. I was cracking up the whole time! Now I’m just waiting until the fifth book in the Heroes of Olympus series is released so I can buy that set in the fall and binge those too 😛

      • Wow that’s awesome! Used bookstores are the best. That’s SO SAD that yours closed 😦 I’m crying for you. I will be really upset if the awesome one near me ever shuts down.

  2. The Paris Wife has also been on my TBR list for a while! I first added it after Emily (at The Bookshelf of Emily J.) shared it as part of her Wives reading club. I don’t know when I’ll get to it, but I can’t wait to hear what you have to say!

Leave a Reply

