Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone (#2): M/M Romance

Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone #2.jpg

 

This feature is all about trying out new genres of books that I wouldn’t necessarily be motivated to read on my own. Each Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone post will be focused on a specific genre — I’ll be sharing my past experiences with it and asking for advice in choosing new books to read.

Anchor Separator

 

I’m currently halfway through Throne of Glass (Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone #1‘s winner), so I can’t say for sure whether the experiment worked or not, but so far I’m absolutely loving it and am really excited to finally have started another fantasy series that I think is awesome.

My second BOoMCZ (the most awkward acronym ever…) is kind of based on how much fun I had participating in #LGBTApril. While it was going on, I realized that I’ve never read an M/M romance before! I’ve read a few books that had male gay characters and/or protagonists in them — Boy Meets Boy, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, and The Original Sinners series — but, besides a few short scenes in one or two of the Original Sinners books, I’ve never really experienced a novel that had explicit gay sex in it.

But I’m definitely interested! Honestly, gay guys kind of turn me on…I love the Brokeback Mountain movie and whenever two guys kiss in a TV show or whatever, I’m like “oooh, yeahhh” while my boyfriend is just like…*avoids eyes* (not that he cares about people being gay — he’s just not interested in the kissing parts unless they’re girls 😛 ).

So I do think that I’ll enjoy a book that has gay sex in it, I’ve just never tried it before! And that’s where it’s your turn to help me. I’m not sure if you guys have much more experience that I do in this genre…but Cayce did promise to help with this, so at least I’ll have one vote 😉

Please feel free to vote even if you haven’t read any of these books (just read the descriptions and decide which one you think is the best/you’d want me to read & review the most) and/or leave recommendations in the comments for any books in this genre that aren’t in the poll.

The Choices:

7871930

The Gentleman and the Rogue by Bonnie Dee & Summer Devon

Gentleman Rogue Summary

Anchor Separator

21454390

Only Love by Garret Leigh

Only Love Summary

Anchor Separator

12156759

Bear, Otter, and the Kid by T.J. Klune

Bear, Otter, and the Kid Summary

Anchor Separator

13420351

Shattered Glass by Dani Alexander

Shattered Glass Sumamry

Anchor Separator

1627

Brokeback Mountain by Annie Proulx

Brokeback Mountain Summary

9 responses to “Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone (#2): M/M Romance

  1. I voted BOtK because it’s amazing but honestly, if I had to do it all over again, I’d start with Abi Roux’s Cut and Run series. I found it easier to connect with the characters when they were comfortable with who they are then the story being about figuring yourself out. But tj klune is an amazing writer and I’ve cried during several of his books. Also, the first Cut and Run book is a little rough on the editing so that might turn you off…

  2. Oooh, this is such a cool feature! I wasn’t following you back when you did the first poll, but I am a huge fantasy fan and I’m glad you chose fantasy for your first BoomCZ! I hope you’ll read more fantasy in the future. (:

    I don’t tend to read adult m/m novels, so I can’t really help you with this. I did skim-read Brokeback Mountain when I was very young but I barely remember it. It’s just a short story, and iirc the movie is probably better in this case.

    I mean, I occasionally read mainstream literary novels where the main character is gay and there’s uh, very literary descriptions gay sex, but I don’t know if that’s what you’re looking for? (I guess Brokeback Mountain might fall into that description too, though it’s not a novel.) If you wanna look into that, Alan Hollinghurst is a FANTASTIC writer. I highly recommend one of his books, The Line of Beauty.

    • Thanks!! 🙂 I really like this feature, too. I had so much fun doing it last time with Throne of Glass. I’m definitely going to be reading more fantasy in the future! I was always nervous about it for some reason, but I’ve really liked all of the fantasy books I’ve read recently.

      Yeah the Brokeback Mountain book is really short, more like a novella. I just included it in the list because I already own it, so it’d be nice if I didn’t have to buy a book to complete the challenge. I guess it’s a challenge? Not sure what else to call it 😛

      Thanks for the recommendation!! I’m going to go look that up on Goodreads right now 🙂

  3. I have to agree with Cynthia on Brokeback Mountain. I, too, skim-read it – sitting on a cushy library couch ~.~ – but it was just a so-so short story. Bonnie Dee & Summer Devon and Garret Leigh are authors whose books I’ve read and liked, BUT since you’re only dipping your toe into M/M, I’d recommend going with Bear, Otter, and the Kid or Shattered Glass. They have great stories/characters and the sex scenes are not as graphic as in some other MM romances. Plus they are both pretty funny (Shattered Glass is especially hilarious). BOatK is a “bit” more of an emotional read…

    Oh and if you like historical, you should try Tamara Allen’s The Only Gold and/or Whistling in the Dark. (no graphic sex in these stories either)

  4. + I’m a fan of the Cut and Run series, but yeah the first book is not the best (and the latest one was pretty disappointing too…)

  5. BOoMCZ is kind of the best acronym ever. I want you to know that I tried saying it out loud many times, and it’s kind of fun to say. Anyways, I love this challenge to yourself and I voted for the gentlemanly one! Maybe next year I’ll dive into some M/M romance! I don’t read a lot of adult romance/erotica stuff, so I will be interested to see how your first experiences are with these books (plus, I’m sure Cayce makes excellent M/M recommendations!)

  6. Pingback: Weekly Recap| May 18-24, 2014 | Oh, the Books!·

  7. Pingback: Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone Wrap-Up (#2): The Gentleman and the Rogue |·

Leave a Reply

