Weekly Wrap-Up (#31)

Weekly Wrap-Up

Weekly Wrap-Up is a post I share with you guys every Friday, in which I highlight all things bookish that I did in the past week — the books I read, the books I bought, books that I got from the library, and great posts that I found on other people’s blogs.

Separator

 

What’s Happening With Me:

*sigh* I’m not doing that great, guys :/ I’m trying to be okay, but some super serious family and personal stuff is going on and I’ve been feeling really depressed and stressed out lately. Usually reading is a haven that I turn to when I’m not feeling well, but I’ve been feeling so awful that I can barely even bring myself to read at all, which makes me even more sad. I’m hopeful that maybe some switching around with my medications will help stuff out, though, and maybe I’ll be a little better soon.

But, if you’ve been wondering, that’s why I’ve been kind of lackluster around the blogging community in regards to frequency of commenting and reading other people’s posts. I hope you understand 🙂

On a positive note, I am doing really well with my weight loss! The diet I’m on is awesome and I’m so close to having lost a total of 10 pounds so far!

And, on another positive/kind of negative note…the kitten we were supposed to get fell through. We’ve been on the “list” to get a kitten from Brent’s coworker’s pregnant cat for weeks, but apparently there was a big thing and somebody STOLE the pregnant cat and sold the babies (probably for drug money or something?), and now the used-to-be pregnant cat is really sick and stuff. I’m horrified that this happened (but, like, of course this happened this week, on top of everything else !! 😛 ) and so sad that we don’t get our adorable kitten…but we might be able to get a new, different kitten next week! The same animal shelter where we got Ivan (yeah, I know, because that one worked out so well….) has three kittens up for adoption right now, so we’re going on Sunday to visit them and will hopefully be approved for adoption. I know it’s probably wrong to think this, but I’m actually really really excited to get a kitten. I’ve been so down lately that I can’t help but think that something cuddly and fluffy could help me feel better.

So…do you guys want to help pick out the name??

 

Brent and I thought it might be cute to name the cat after a character from one of our favorite shows (Peggy is from Mad Men and Asha is from Game of Thrones — well, she’s actually called “Osha” in the show, but her real name in the books is “Asha” and Osha is a stupid name either way). The other two names are just ones that we thought were cute and both agreed on.

Here’s a picture of the three kittens up for adoption this weekend (the one all the way on the left is SO CUTE!):

1513726_694507673940751_1722980932396267362_n

 

 

Books That I Finished This Week:

16034235

  1. Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas
  2. The Captain and the Prince (Throne of Glass #0.6) by Sarah J. Maas

 

Sorry…no weekly links this week. I’m just not up to it :/ But I hope to be back with a better weekly wrap-up next week. At least you got a picture of kittens!

 

9 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up (#31)

  1. I hope things ease up and you start feeling better soon. I can’t believe someone stole the cat. That’s just so wrong.

    • I know, right?? I was horrified when I heard about it. Who does something like that?? Crimes against animals are seriously some of the worst kinds, since they’re so defenseless.

  2. Miranda, you know you always have my email and my inbox is wide open for you 🙂 Anything I can do, please please please let me know, even if it’s just a listening ear! *hug*

    Sorry to hear about the kitten, but the one on the left is ADORABLE! And I agree – Osha is a stupid name. I voted for Asha 🙂

    • Aww thanks hun 🙂 I thought about emailing you, but I don’t know…I guess I didn’t really want to talk about it anymore. But if I do feel like talking you’re definitely the first person I’d think of 🙂 You’re such a good listener. I’m just still processing, I guess. My family is kind of going nuts (no, actually, they’re definitely going nuts), and I’m having some relationship problems, too :/ But I really really really appreciate the sweet comment and the offer of a listening ear. I’m so lucky to have a bloggy friend like you!

      Haha why am I surprised that you picked the “A” name? 😛

      Speaking of which, my family life and stuff is kinda why I haven’t been editing lately. I can seriously barely manage to do anything these days, I’m so stressed out. But don’t take it personally…I LOVE your story and can’t wait to continue. I just need to wait until I’m in a better place to pick it up again, especially because it’s so sad haha. I hope you understand 🙂

      • I know the feeling 🙂 Whenever you’re ready to talk, I’m here.

        DEFINITELY going nuts is the appropriate phrase, I’d say. And I don’t know if you’re a LOTR fan, but this is one of my favorite quotes, and it really helps me when everything hits the fan: “It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end… because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing… this shadow. Even darkness must pass.”

        Hehe, I’m just that unpredictable 😉

        DO NOT WORRY! I love your feedback, and I’m very patient in waiting for it 😉 Besides, I’m a slow writer, so we balance each other out. Although I do promise the sad bits are almost over! I think. I make no promises, actually.

      • Definitely nuts is right. And ooh I like that quote. Thanks for sharing 🙂 I’ve never read the LOTR books or seen the movies…I don’t know, my Dad tried to read me The Hobbit when I was a kid and I hated it, so I’m kind of scarred. But I’ll probably try the series again some day since it’s such a classic.

      • The same happened to me (what is it with dads??). I think it’s one of those books you really have to read on your own time, when you’re ready!

      • We have creepily similar families 😛

        Okay…good to know. I’m kind of overwhelmed with the length of it all, since I like to marathon series, so it might take a while to psych myself up for it. But I will read (or at least attempt to) them at some point 🙂 I feel better knowing you had the same experience but still liked it afterwards.

Leave a Reply

