Book Haul (#15): Local Used Bookstore (7 books!)

Another book haul! I feel like I’ve actually been doing fairly well at buying books in 2014, though. I’ve only made two purchases from BookOutlet.com and two purchases from my local used bookstore. And less than 10 ebooks from Amazon. I’d say that’s doing pretty well!

During my most recent visit to my favorite local used bookstore, I came out a couple dollars poorer and seven books richer! And I couldn’t be more excited about the books I found. This is probably my favorite from that bookstore so far 🙂

 

IMG_7727

Anchor Separator

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon

Curious Incident Summary

Uhh…how have I not read this book before? Pretty much almost all of my Goodreads friends have, apparently, yet I never joined the party. It wasn’t even really on my radar until I saw it in the bookstore. But I’m very intrigued after reading the synopsis!

Anchor Separator

Gemma Doyle

A Great and Terrible Beauty & The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray

Gemma Doyle Summary

Yes, I now own books 1 and 3 in the Gemma Doyle trilogy, but not the second one. I’ll just have to keep my eye out for it next time I go. But I love historical fiction and I’m a fan of Libba Bray, so I’m really really excited about this series! I probably won’t have time to get to it for a while, but I think the covers are gorgeous and I’ve heard really good things about them 🙂

Anchor Separator

 

The Favored Child by Philippa Gregory

The Favored Child by Philippa Gregory

Favored Child Summary

As many of you know, Philippa Gregory is one of my all-time favorite authors. I will read anything she writes; I think it’s all amazing. While this one doesn’t have stellar reviews on Goodreads, it’s the sequel to her book Wideacre that I read a few years back, so I’m excited to continue on with the series at some point.

Anchor Separator

White Cat by Holly Black

White Cat by Holly Black

White Cat Summary

Is it just me, or does that model totally look like Chuck Bass? I’m really interested in this one! I’ve heard many many good things about it. I’m a little nervous since I was not a huge fan of her other book Coldest Girl in Coldtown, but I’m hoping that I’ll like this one more.

Anchor Separator

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Thirteen Reasons Why Summary

I’m so excited that I found this book! I’ve actually read it before, but it was years ago and I barely remember it, so I’d really like to re-read it and write a review for it at some point.

Anchor Separator

One Breath Away by Heather Gudenkauf

One Breath Away by Heather Gudenkauf

One Breath Away Summary

I read and really liked two of Gudenkauf’s other books — The Weight of Silence and These Things Hidden — so I’m excited to read another book by her and the synopsis has me totally intrigued!

Have you read any of these? What did you think? What are some books you’ve bought recently?

8 responses to “Book Haul (#15): Local Used Bookstore (7 books!)

  1. I love Libba Bray’s historical series! I guess I pretty much love everything she writes. Awesome books, I’m also curious to read White Cat.

    • I really liked, but didn’t love, The Diviners. I’m excited for Lair of Dreams, though. I haven’t read the Gemma Doyle series at all yet, but I LOVE historical fiction (particularly stuff in that time period) so I’m thinking that I’m really going to like it.

  2. Oh you got The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time! I loved, LOVED that book ❤ And I haven't read the Coldest Girl…, but White Cat is a favorite of mine. 🙂
    Happy reading!

    • Thanks 🙂 I read The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, but I actually didn’t like it very much. But I’ve heard that White Cat is better, so I’m interested to see how I’ll respond to it.

  3. I actually JUST finished 13 Reasons Why last night! From its reputation I thought I’d be a crying mess, but I didn’t even shed a tear. It’s one of those that really made me think though; definitely going to be in my head for a few days, at least.

  4. I really, really enjoyed A Great and Terrible Beauty! Libba Bray is definitely great at writing a good historical fiction/paranormal novel! It gave me the chills! Hope you enjoy! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Book Haul (#17): Local Used Bookstore (10 books!) |·

Leave a Reply

