When I’m Not Blogging or Reading, I’m…Experimenting with Makeup!

When I'm Not Blogging or Reading

When I’m Not Blogging or Reading, I’m… is a monthly feature based on this post of the same name from The Day Dreamer and Candy Eater. I read her post, loved it, and immediately asked if I could borrow it for use on my own blog! In this feature, I showcase a hobby or something that interests me outside of blogging and reading.

Separator

One of my hobbies outside of blogging and reading is playing around with makeup. I’ve been interested in it ever since I can remember, and recently I started getting even more into it — looking at different techniques on Pinterest, following makeup blogs, and asking to do my friends’ makeup!

Today I’m going to share with you guys my everyday makeup routine. I don’t always go all out every single day, but when I do want to look nice for work or whatever, this is the process and these are the products that I use.

If you’re not really interested in makeup and just want to skip to the before-and-after shot…scroll down to the bottom!

My main battle is making my face look a normal color, because I have a skin condition that makes my face (especially my cheeks) really red, and also trying to make my face look thinner, because I’m a curvy girl. Keep in mind that I also have a lazy eye. People don’t really ever notice it in person, but it’s super obvious in most photographs, so that’s why my eyes might look a little “weird.”

Okay…are you ready? Am I ready? This is what I look like without a stitch of makeup on!

IMG_7693

Blegh. I honestly don’t think that I look that hideous without makeup…but, man, those red cheeks are a killer. Oh, by the way, I did this little makeup session on my day off so that I’d have plenty of time to take pictures, so that’s why I’m wearing my boyfriend’s oversized t-shirt and my hair is super super messy, because honestly I don’t really care, and this is about makeup, not hair! That’s a whole other story for a different day, haha.

Step #1: Moisturizer

IMG_7696

Great…now I just look red and shiny 😉

After I get out of the shower in the morning, before doing my makeup, I always make sure to give my face a little extra moisture. Especially in the winter! Right now I’m using Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Creme with Royal Jelly and really love it. Basically, I’ll use anything that’s made specifically for facial use. I have sensitive skin, but I’m not too picky because most facial moisturizers are called “facial” because they’re extra sensitive.

Before I go to bed at night, I also like to use the Yes to Carrots Nourishing Daily Facial Moisturizer and CVS’ Night Firming Cream (which is the generic version of the Night of Olay Firming Cream) for around my eyes.

Step #2: Foundation and Pressed Powder

IMG_7699

Phew! Much better. All the redness is gone 🙂

My absolute favorite foundation product is Covergirl Natureluxe Liquid Silk Foundation (in 305 “alabaster”) — but it was actually discontinued last year. Luckily I still have some leftovers that I had saved up, but pretty soon I’m going to have to switch to something else and I’m pretty bummed about it. Any recommendations for cheap but amazing liquid foundations?

After applying foundation with a foundation brush (I like the EcoTools Bamboo Foundation Brush), I brush on some pressed powder (I use Covergirl Clean Pressed Powder for normal skin in 105 “Ivory”). It’s not a good idea to use powder if you’re older and have wrinkles that the powder could emphasize, but for right now it works just fine for me and helps set the foundation and makes it last all day. There are other non-powder products out there that do this job, but I just personally like using powder.

Step #3: Eyelashes

IMG_7702

After curling my eyelashes, I use two coats of mascara to get them looking long and luscious. My absolute favorite one to use is L’Oréal’s Voluminous Extra-Volume Collagen Mascara. I wish I had done a close-up so that you could really see, but I love how it makes my eyelashes nice and plump without clumping.

I don’t always do this, but today I also used Maybelline’s Falsies Big Eyes Volum’ Express for a thin coating on my lower lashes.

Step #4: Eyebrows

IMG_7703

To be honest, I’m not super happy about how my eyebrows came out here. The right one (left side of this photograph) looks a little weird, I think. Like too done-up. So I’m sorry about that…normally I think they look pretty natural.

I love this video tutorial (below) of how to do your eyebrows. As you can see in the previous photos, I have really thin eyebrows. I still have to pluck them for stray hairs and stuff, but they’re very low-maintenance and are barely even there. But I think that filling them in a bit with makeup really helps define my face a little more and it does look really good when done right.

Right now I’m using the EcoTools Bamboo Flat Eyeliner Brush with the darkest shade of the Physicians Formula Matte Collection Quad Eyeshadow in “Canyon Classics” to fill in my brows. I also use the Covergirl Brow & Eyemakers Pencil in “midnight brown” to help me out.

Step #5: Highlighting and Contouring

IMG_7707

And this is the final product!

The last step I took to achieve this everyday look was to highlight and contour my cheeks. I used the Sephora Classic Must-Have Angled Blush Brush to swipe Maybelline ExpertWear Eyeshadow in 15S “Linen” onto the apples of my cheeks. There are highlighting powders and creams specifically made for this, but a pearly nude/white eyeshadow is a cheaper option that does the same job!

Across my cheekbones, I used the same brush to swipe on some contouring powder (or, in this case, pressed powder one-to-two shades darker than normal). Right now I’m using Revlon ColorStay Pressed Powder in “light medium,” which is perfect for my very light skin. Because it is so light, usually any bronzer looks too unnatural on my face, but a lot of people do use bronzer for contouring. But my fair skin, combined with the fact that I don’t really like the shimmery bronzer look on my face, means that I just use a darker pressed powder instead.

Before taking this photo, I also swiped on some Nivea chapstick, because I’m not a huge fan of going crazy on the lips for a normal day. But my favorite low-key lipgloss is the L’Oréal Infallible Lip Gloss in “barely nude.”

And we’re done! Here’s the before and after shot:

BeforeAfterMakeup.jpg

Holy crap, what a difference a little makeup makes, right? Look at how much thinner and more evenly colored my finished face is compared to the no-makeup face!

Let’s look at the complete transformation:

Makeup Transformation

*takes a bow*

What about you guys… Do you wear makeup? How often? Do you have an everyday routine like me? Are you interested in makeup or do you think it’s overrated? What are some of your favorite products?

18 responses to “When I’m Not Blogging or Reading, I’m…Experimenting with Makeup!

  1. You know what? I was actually just trying to find ways to fix my eyebrows today. Thank you for sharing that amazing video!

    I think it’s really cool how you have a thing for makeup! I’m not really all that into it. I almost never wear it and when I do, I feel silly. I almost never get that pretty feeling from makeup like a lot of girls seem to.

    But anyways, I think you’ve done a beautiful job! Boyfie’s shirt and all!

    • Yes I love that video! You’re welcome 🙂 My eyebrows always look perfect now, it’s amazing.

      I think it’s fine that some people choose not to wear makeup a lot/don’t really like wearing it. You shouldn’t do it if you don’t like it! But I actually have a lot of fun doing my makeup, so that’s mostly the reason why I wear it so much. Although there are definitely days where I’m just like *sigh* I am NOT doing this today haha. But I do have to admit that I also get really self-conscious about my red skin, too. So that’s another big part of the reason why I think I wear it so much. But I eventually grew to really love putting it on, so I think it’s okay 🙂 I don’t think I’d be okay with self-consciousness being the ONLY reason why I wear makeup, so I’m glad that it actually is something I find to be really fun as well.

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

      • I’m definitely going to try it out soon!

        I don’t actually mind putting it on and having fun with it – I just don’t like how I feel afterwards (like a cake). So I try to find really light foundations and such, and I put the smallest amounts of everything on.

        Haha, It’s great that you have fun with it! Do you also experiment with different colours?
        I actually have the red skin problem, too. Except it’s not always like that. It just appears someday’s and isn’t there others. I totally understand why your self-conscience about it – I am, too!

        You’re welcome. (:

      • I get what you mean about the cake feeling. I don’t really notice it anymore…maybe it’s just something that you kind of get used to after a while. But I can understand not wanting to feel like that.

        I definitely experiment with different colors, too! That was just my everyday look…but on girls nights out or special date nights, I try to do something a little more cool and different. Like maybe some smokey eyeshadow or crazy lipstick.

  2. I wear makeup just about every day too. My big thing is that my skin tone is really uneven and I have lots of freckles, so I’m always trying to smooth it out. Also my number one ritual, after moisturizer, is sunscreen. Every day rain or shine for the past *mumble mumble* years. It has kept the wrinkles at bay! Most people can’t guess my real age because of regular use of moisturizer and sunscreen;-)

    • Wow good job!! A lot of people don’t use sunscreen as a daily thing, but they definitely should! I don’t in the winter (probably should, though), but in the summer, I use a moisturizer that has sunscreen in it. I really want to keep my skin looking as youthful as possible for a long time! I hate that I have such fair skin, but I never go tanning or even really lay out in the sun that much…it’s just not worth it!

  3. I love your face ❤ It's so nice to be able to see more than your regular "about me" pic!

    I will admit right here that on mornings when I'm feeling really bold I'll take upwards of 30 minutes to do my makeup. Although now that my skin has cleared up a lot (another benefit to those pills and exercise!), my foundation routine is much quicker. I start with concealer, then use a tinted moisturizer, add some powder foundation, and then a bit of blush. The rest is spent on my eyes 😀 Some days I go really colorful and blend a lot of shades together, and others I just use a pale pink with some eyeliner and mascara and then I'm done. So my every day look really depends on my mood I guess!

    But if you saw me when I was about 14 or 15… yeesh. That was my experimental phase. I looked like a clown O_O I would mix purple and green, or use blue all over – really crazy colors! The only thing that saved me is the fact that I have fairly good technique, so it wasn't absolutely horrible. Plus, the glasses hid a lot of it 😛

    • Thank you!! Yeah that picture that I use for everything doesn’t really look anything like how I look on a normal day, since my hair is straightened in it — I have SUPER curly hair. This is what I usually look like on a normal day after I’ve done my hair and makeup and stuff: https://tempestbooks.wordpress.com/?attachment_id=2152 (but I look a bit different as my hair dries and it gets a little poofier). Here’s a pic of what my hair looks like after it dries: https://tempestbooks.wordpress.com/?attachment_id=2153 (ignore my cat’s serial killer face lmfao).

      Wow 30 minutes haha! I only go that crazy on girls nights out. I don’t usually do eye makeup beyond mascara on a normal day, but I love doing it when I get the chance. I really like doing a smokey eye with purple shadow or doing gold all over. I’m SO bad at eyeliner, though, so I almost never wear that. I think it’s awesome that you do crazy colors and stuff 🙂 I can totally picture you like that; I’m not surprised at all haha.

      • Your hair is so pretty! My hair is stupidly flat -_- Although I’m sure your hair gets pretty frizzy, huh? I guess there’s struggles both ways 😀

        Your cat is freaky O_O He totally looks like he’s trying to attack the camera!

        Eye liner is my favorite part! Liquid is my go-to 😉 If I’m in a rush, I’ll just do a swipe of a lighter shimmer, then do a bold cat eye or something. Bam! All set for the day 😀

      • My hair used to get really frizzy all the time. I just finally started learning how to control it really well a couple of years ago. Now, as long as I take the time to deal with it, it comes out looking pretty good…but it’s the time part that sucks! If I’m just throwing my hair up on a day off, it’s definitely going to look all frizzy like it does in the post. But oh well! I’ve stopped caring about it haha.

        Oh my god…you have no idea about my cat. He’s nuts. He probably did want to attack the camera haha.

  4. This is very, very cool! I don’t think a lot of people realize how much their faces can change when they apply makeup, and it’s sort of crazy to realize once you DO see it. You look fabulous with and without it, though, so really, don’t stress! 😛

    Also, if you’re looking for a new liquid foundation I recommend Loreal’s Lumi, which is a fantastic liquid foundation. I stopped using it however because my skin is too oily and it adds too much shine. I use a MAC foundation now, and it has more of a matte finish that helps downplay my oily skin. However I haven’t been wearing makeup much at all lately which means whenever I do wear it now I tend to break out. 😦 It’s so upsetting.

    Great little post! I love makeup almost as much as I love books. ;P

    • Aww thank you 🙂 And thanks for the recommendation! I’m definitely going to try that out. My skin isn’t oily at all, so I shouldn’t have the same problem as you.

      Ugh I hate that — I break out sometimes if I accidentally use too much moisturizer.

      I think it’s awesome how much you can alter your face with makeup. I loved seeing my before and after picture when I was done — I didn’t even realize myself just how much it really was changing my face shape.

      Haha no question…books will always win for me. But I love makeup a lot, too!

  5. I am obsessed with make-up!! I have so much fun with it. I love your tips! My thing is totally eye shadow. I will wear all colors and just have fun with it. I think my husband sometimes is like.. what????? But I don’t care. If I feel fabulous then I am!

  6. Pingback: Bloggin' Recap: April 6th-12th | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater·

    • I’m still trying to find some good ones! So far, maskcara.com is the one that I really like. I’ll also occasionally browse some YouTube videos and other blogs, but as of right now that’s the only one that I actually follow religiously. I’ll let you know if I find some more, though!

  7. Pingback: Life of a Blogger: January 2014 Catch-Up |·

Leave a Reply

