Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone (#1): Fantasy

Welcome to the debut of my new feature…Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone! This feature is all about trying out new genres of books that I wouldn’t necessarily be motivated to read on my own. Each Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone post will be focused on a specific genre, and I’ll be sharing my past experiences with that genre and asking for advice about choosing new books to read.

The feature is inspired by a few different bloggers who have done similar things…notably, The Perpetual Page-Turner’s Courting Genres feature & Alexa Loves Books’ feature, It Takes Two.

I consider myself to be a pretty well-rounded reader in terms of genres. There aren’t very many that I haven’t tried out at least once…but there are still a bunch for which I consider myself to be a “beginner,” and aren’t necessarily in my reading comfort zone. So I’m hoping to branch out a little bit more with this new feature…and I hope that you guys will help me!

Each time, I’ll list some books in a genre that I’ve been meaning to read, and there will be a poll at the end for you to vote on which one I should check out next! I’ll then read the book you guys chose and write a follow-up post telling you how I felt about it.

Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone #2.jpg

The first Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone genre that I’m going to talk about is fantasy.

Even though I’ve read a few fantasy books, or books that have had fantasy elements in them, I still consider myself to be a beginner in this genre. The most fantasy-ish books that I’ve read have been the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin, American Gods by Neil Gaiman, and Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen. Those are the only books/series I’ve read that I would consider their main genre (outside of “YA” or “Adult”) to be fantasy.

I have some fantasy books on my TBR list that I’ve been meaning to read, and those are…

Vote for which book you want me to read in the poll below!

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Girl of Fire and Thorns Summary.jpg

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass Summary.jpg

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

Golden Compass Summary.jpg

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Starcrossed Summary.jpg

Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Everneath Summary.jpg

20 responses to “Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone (#1): Fantasy

  1. This is a brilliant idea!
    I can’t really vote, because I haven’t read any of the books you have listed. Though I’m reading The Golden Compass very shortly. and I have heard nothing but GOOD about Throne of Glass recently.

    Can I put in some suggestion, though? I do love me some fantasy. I would recommend Eragon by Christopher Paolini (ignore the movie) and Abarat by Clive Barker, which I also consider a fantasy. There’s also Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder or Inkheart by Cornelia Funke, which I feel has some really strong fantasy elements if you haven’t read them yet.

    I hope you enjoy the genre and breaking out! You will grow from beginner to pro soon enough. (;

    • Thanks for your suggestions!! That’s so weird, I just bought Eragon at my library’s used book sale. And Touch of Power is on my TBR list as well! At first the list in this post was way longer, but I figured I should try to narrow it down to five. And I decided to only chose books that I already own, so it’d be easy to pick them up and read them quickly for April. There are definitely a lot of other fantasy books I want to read someday, like the ones you mentioned 🙂 And I’ve read Inkheart! I totally forgot about that one…I read it when I was a kid.

      • 😀 😀 See! You’re already making progress!
        But that is pretty weird, hey! I really hope you get to them one day if you enjoy fantasy enough.
        I read Inkheart as a kid, too. But it really stayed with me. I still re-read them now. (:

  2. Oh em geeeeeeeeee read The Girl of Fire and Thorns, read The Girl of Fire and Thorns! Okay to be fair I haven’t read any of the other books but I promise you won’t be sorry if you go with The Girl of Fire and Thorns! I binge read the entire series a couple weeks ago, including all the novellas (which were great insights into side characters) and really can’t say enough good about those books. Rae Carson is fantastic. She has this way of pulling a world together that is culturally rich and visually descriptive, and I could easily see myself in it along with her characters. And those characters! I looooove them. A lot of people have complained about Elisa and her weight in the beginning of the series but I think it was handled well, especially since some of her issues are things I deal with myself. That world though, goodness. I have plans for quite a few posts on that book series, but will need to re-read them sometime soon before I can write them. I read through them so quickly and was so enthralled I didn’t want to stop to take notes.

    Since someone mentioned Clive Barker above (and I LOVE HIM TO BITS) there is also Weaveworld for a fantasyish story. It’s been years since I’ve read it but I’m sure it holds up.

    • Hahaha thanks for your advice!! I definitely have heard amazing things about that series and, honestly, I’m rooting for either it or Throne of Glass to win the poll! And I love me good novella, so it’s good to hear that that series has great ones, too. You’ve totally sold me on this series! Either way, I’ll most definitely be reading it sooner rather than later.

      I’ve never heard of Clive Barker! But I’m definitely going to have to look up these books on Goodreads to see what he’s all about. Thanks so much for the suggestions 🙂

  3. Throne of Glass for sure! It’s politics, court life, mystery, a bit of creepy, and the best: Celaena Sardothian, AKA badass assassin chick who will slit your throat while wearing her finest dress. It’s my current favorite series, and I’m finishing The Assassin’s Blade right now – I hate novellas, but these are AMAZING!

      • And it still clearly has not sunk in, because I have not been tweeted about it’s magnificence! So I will continue to flail about the entire series until you’ve read them all 😀

      • Hahaha I HAVE A SCHEDULE, WOMAN. But don’t worry. I penciled Throne of Glass into April’s list and I will definitely be reading it this month! And then I plan to finish the series within the two months after that if I like it (which I better, because I’m pretty sure you’ll murder me if I don’t 😛 ).

  4. These are all great picks! Fantasy is for sure one of my most favorite genres and there are so many great book out there. You should totally check out Graceling if you haven’t read it yet. The Alanna series is also fantastic 🙂

    • Thanks for the suggestions! Graceling is definitely on my list…I think I own it actually, haha. And I’m going to go check out the Alanna series on Goodreads right now!

  5. The Golden Compass was the very first book I picked out myself, so it holds a very special place with me. And it’s great for starting off in the fantasy genre! I haven’t read any of the others, but I look forward to seeing which book wins and learning more about them. Yay, I’m so excited for you Miranda, fantasy is an EPIC genre! 🙂

  6. Honestly, if you’ve read the ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ series then you’re prepared for any of these! That series has a HUGE cast of characters, locations, languages etc.

    I’d definitely recommend Throne of Glass, as I absolutely loved it (and the sequel). I’ve tried to read The Golden Compass/Northern Lights a couple of times, although not for years, and I’m going to try and have another go at it soon.

    And after Leanne’s recent comments about Rae Carson’s books, I’m definitely going to check them out =)

    • Well that’s good to hear. I know that ASoIaF is definitely hardcore when it comes to that stuff…but the main problem I have with fantasy (or, I guess I should say, the reason why I haven’t read many books in that genre) is because I’m not a huge fan of the otherworldly aspects of it — like fairies, trolls, dragons, elves, dwarves, etc. I liked the ASoIaF series because it read more like historical fiction than fantasy, since there are only a few magical/paranormal elements in it. Those are my least favorite parts of it — I’m definitely more interested in the political and relationships parts of it.

      Throne of Glass definitely won the vote! I’ll be reading it this month and I’m so excited 🙂

  7. Pingback: Breezy’s Bookish Week | Breezy Reads·

  8. Pingback: Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone Wrap-Up (#1): Throne of Glass |·

  9. Pingback: Breaking Out of My Comfort Zone (#2): M/M Romance |·

Leave a Reply

