Do You Get Scared of Re-Reading Books?

Discussion Post

My first-ever discussion post, back in November, was all about re-reading books. I confessed that I’m not much of a re-reader, but after deciding to take a second pass over the Divergent series and The Hunger Games trilogy, I realized that it might not be as bad as I was making it out to be.

But even though I ended up liking it, I haven’t re-read anything since then…and there’s a reason why. I’m terrified that I’m going to re-read a book that I loved, and end up not liking it as much as I did the first time. Especially now that I’ve been blogging and reading tons of books, I’m worried that my tastes and my perception of certain things have changed. I’m definitely a more critical reader now than I used to be. I really want to re-read a bunch of books that I’ve always considered some of my favorites, but I’m scared that my love for them will be tarnished if I realize that they’re not as good of books as I once thought they were.

So, instead of re-reading them, I’m now just letting them live on happily in perfectionhood in my mind. But it’s kind of bumming me out that I’m not letting myself experience them again. And what if they are as good as they were the first time? I’ll never know unless I try…but there’s a HUGE price to pay if I’m wrong.

What about you… Have you ever been scared to re-read a book? Do you think that book blogging has ruined re-reading for you at all? Have you ever re-read a book and regretted it?

Other Bloggers Have Opinions On This, Too!

17 responses to “Do You Get Scared of Re-Reading Books?

  1. I re-read books all the time and I haven’t ever had that happen. I have had that happen with movies or shows but never books. Especially comedies. I’ll sit there watching and wondering how I ever thought this was funny.

    I’ve never even thought of the possibility of it happening with books until you just brought it up. I guess it could happen. Re-reading is why my TBR pile is always going to exist.

    • Hmm that’s interesting. I don’t think that’s ever happened to me with a TV show or movie before. Maybe that means I’ll be okay with books, too? I don’t know. But I’m glad to hear that you don’t have a problem with it…that kind of puts me at ease.

  2. I don’t really re-read books, unless they’re really short and light and I’m just in the mood for something quick before bed. As for my favourites, I am afraid that I might go back without the fan-goggles and realise that they aren’t that great after all.

    Like Francine said, too many books to read! 😛 I need more time for books that haven’t been read yet.

    • That’s mostly my opinion about re-reading — there’s too many other ones I haven’t read! But there are a few that I really do want to re-read (maybe around 5). But I just don’t want it to be a bad experience and ruin the good feelings I already have about them in my head.

  3. I used to be a BIG rereader because I was always scared to pick up new books. But then when I started blogging and discovering a whole slew of great new books out there, rereading became a distant memory as its hard to find the time. I don’t know what it would be like now, as you said, I’m more critical now. Eeeek, it is scary to think about! Great post! 🙂

  4. I think it’s totally understandable to be scared of rereading books! I never was a huge rereader to begin with, but I do notice that I will sometimes think about rereading a book now and then look at all my other books I’ve gotten because of blogging and just feel like it’s impossible. That being said, I did start to reread one of my favorite series ever, Chaos Walking, back in February. I still haven’t reread the last book of the series, but I’m happy to say rereading the first two didn’t change my opinion of the amazingness of the series. Sure, I noticed some issues with it that I didn’t have before, but I’m still glad I read it because I was able to reunite with the characters I loved and I feel more confident recommending it to others!

    • Your comment makes me feel better about possibly re-reading some of my favorites. I really want to re-unite with them, like you said, but I’m nervous about ruining my previous experience or not feeling the same way about them. But I think that I should just try it out and see what happens. I had a good experience re-reading the Divergent trilogy and The Hunger Games trilogy, so I hope the good luck continues if I try it some more. Thanks for the comment 🙂

  5. I’m actually afraid of not rereading books! I used to reread all the time, because I only had a few books on my shelves, but now with so many books I want to read, I’ve been sacrificing my reread time. I miss all my babies! So maybe I will end up not feeling the same way, but I’m willing to take that chance 🙂

  6. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Mar 16-22, 2014 | Oh, the Books!·

  7. I’m with on being afraid of re-reading books. Not so much because of changing tastes but rather because one of the things draws me into a book is suspense. Once I’ve read a book, suspense technically flies out of the window since I already know what happened, even if my memory gets fuzzy over time.

  8. Pingback: Weekly Recap: March 16th - 22nd | These Paper Hearts·

  9. Pingback: Retrospect #11-12 (Double Edition): March 23rd : Dudette Reads·

  10. Pingback: Bloggin' Recap: March 16th-22nd | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater·

  11. I can understand the fear of re-reading. At the beginning of last year I wanted to read some of my childhood favourites. BAD IDEA. Neither of the two books I read were anything like I remembered. They weren’t even that great at all. This actually really upset me. I had these images of these books in my mind, and I remembered loving them SO MUCH and now that’s kind of ruined.
    But then there’s the re-reading that turns out well. This is usually for books that I read when I was a bit older (mid-teens time). I have read two of my favourite books MUCH more than once and I still think they’re amazing with every re-read I do.
    Since blogging I have only re-read one book, and it was because the publisher sent me a review copy (and I felt like re-reading it again anyway). I actually ended up liking it more than the first time because I was able to evaluate the problems I had had with it previously. It was awesome.
    But other than that, there are some books I am a little bit scared of re-reading. Like you said, isn’t it safer for you to keep the beautiful perfection intact in your head rather than risk it all crumbling?
    I think that if I have the overwhelming desire to read a favourite that I haven’t yet read for a second time, I’ll still do it. Fear, begone! Sure, my thoughts might have changed a bit, but it will feel like coming home to and old friend.

    • I like your attitude about it! After hearing what everybody has had to say about it, I think that I probably will re-read a few of my old favorites! There are a couple that I REALLY want to revisit. I’m nervous about it, especially after hearing that you did have some bad experiences, but I think that it might be worth it and I don’t want to be scared of it forever. But I don’t think that I’m going to become some crazy re-reader or something…I like reading new books and they will always be my priority. Thanks for the comment 🙂 Your opinion really helped!

Leave a Reply

