Adult Fiction Favorites {Top Ten Tuesday}

Top Ten Tuesday

For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, the theme is to pick your top ten favorite books from a particular genre. Even though this is a mostly YA book blog, I decided that I’m going to share some of my favorite adult fiction picks, since it’s not a genre that I really ever get to talk to you guys about.

Up until about a year ago, I read almost exclusively adult fiction! Getting into YA is a very recent thing for me, so I have lots of books I love from the “old days” (you know…before I realized where the real fun is at 😉 ).

The Bungalow by Sarah Jio

The Bungalow by Sarah Jio

Bungalow Summary

I’m not a huge fan of Sarah Jio in general, but I LOVED The Bungalow. Even though I ended up only giving it 4 stars, it’s still in my favorites shelf on Goodreads and I find myself thinking about it sometimes, now months after I’ve finished it. I thought the story was suspenseful and romantic and I loved the characters. If you haven’t read Sarah Jio yet, I’d definitely recommend that you start with this one.

Orange Flourish

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

Racing in the Rain Summary

Cried like a baby. I really, really liked this book a lot. It has such a sweet message and I found the narration to be so creative and unique. I listened to the audiobook of this one, which I would highly recommend.

Orange Flourish

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl Summary

There are definitely mixed opinions about this book out there, but personally I loved it. I’m a huge fan of unreliable/unlikable narrators, and this book has some of the best examples of those types of characters. Suspenseful and intriguing, this book is incredibly well-written and is one that I might even consider re-reading one day.

Orange Flourish

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult

Storyteller Summary

This is another one that made me cry! I think I cried twice while reading it, which is literally unheard of for me. I loved this book so much. I can’t recommend it enough. Even though I do think that the WWII historical fiction genre is a big overdone (there are so many books about it out there), The Storyteller is like nothing you’ve ever read before. And it’s very different from all of Picoult’s other works in terms of writing style, content, and themes.

Orange Flourish

Turning Angel by Greg Iles

Turning Angel by Greg Iles

Turning Angel Summary

Ooh I love this book. It’s been a while since I read it, but I’ve always regarded it as one of my favorite thrillers. It’s the second novel in Iles’ Penn Cage series, but you don’t need to read the first one to enjoy this one. I just love the combination of lust, betrayal, murder, and blackmail – it made for one hell of a nail-biting read.

Orange Flourish

American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld

American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld

American Wife Summary

Although it’s been a while since I’ve read this one, I remember loving it a lot. American Wife is actually a novel based on the true story of Laura Bush, George W. Bush’s wife, and it’s so readable and relatable. I loved the dynamics of the characters and the questions that this book raised. Can you be married to somebody and fundamentally disagree with them about certain things? Even though it’s about a President’s wife, these are real issues that almost everybody will face at some point in their lives.

Orange Flourish

The Time Traveller's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

Time Traveller's Wife Summary

Oh my gosh, this book is so beautiful. I read it a long time ago, back when it first came out, and I’m pretty sure I even might’ve re-read it sometime since then. And it’s definitely something I’d consider re-reading in the future, too. I loved it that much. And don’t even get me started on the movie! Rachel McAdams is like my ultimate girl crush, so it was pretty much the most perfect thing ever.

Orange Flourish

The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes

The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes

Last Letter Summary

This one made me cry, too! A romantic story, there’s also a lot of suspense involved! It had me on the edge of my seat and in tears. There were some things I didn’t love about it, but overall the emotion I felt while reading it was so real that I couldn’t help but give this 5 stars.

Orange Flourish

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

Silver Linings Playbook Summary

I just read this one a few weeks ago and I really, really liked it! It wasn’t until after I saw the movie that I realized it was a book, but I’m so glad that I decided to read the book anyway, because it was really good. Pat’s character is another example of a really well-written unreliable (and, at times, unlikable) narrator, but he is so endearing and his struggles are very relatable.

Orange Flourish

The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

Other Boleyn Girl Summary

I’m sure that you guys have heard of this book, but if you haven’t read it yet…you need to. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know that I’m kind of a huge historical fiction fan. Well, Philippa Gregory is my favorite historical fiction author and I feel like, even if you’re not normally a fan of HF, you should try at least one of her books…and this is definitely the one I’d recommend first!

Share your Top Ten Tuesday posts below in the comments!

8 responses to “Adult Fiction Favorites {Top Ten Tuesday}

  1. I watched The Silver Linings Playbook movie not that long ago with my roommates. It was a good movie but so awkward at times lol. Their dance at the end lol…my gosh =)

  2. I absolutely agree about Gone Girl! I love unreliable/unlikable characters and Gillian Flynn is the master of them! Have you read Sharp Objects and Dark Places? Those characters are even more hateful, but they were awesome!

    I also really loved The Time Traveler’s Wife! I cried so much read it though 😦

    I haven’t read one of Philipa Gregory’s book but I’ve been wanting to try The Other Boleyn Girl! I’m ok with historical fiction, in fact I’m just starting to get back into it so I’m glad to know this is the one that you would recommend first!

    I am going to check out some of the others on Goodreads now!

    • I haven’t read Sharp Objects or Dark Places yet! They’re on my TBR list, though. I really need to get to them soon.

      Yes, definitely do The Other Boleyn Girl! It’s actually the second in a series, but it’s not necessary to read the first one before that one. It was the first book of hers that I read and reading them out of order didn’t really matter.

      Glad to know you liked my list! 🙂

  3. Oh my goodness, the Time Traveler’s Wife is the ultimate love story in my opinion. The prose is absolutely beautiful and the tale is a classic. Great choices Miranda! 🙂

Leave a Reply

