Book Haul (#12): Local Used Bookstore (7 books!)

IMG_7645

Book Haul #11

The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials #1) by Philip Pullman: I’ve never read this series! So when I saw the first book, I knew that I had to snatch it up. These books are famous, and definitely something that I need to read at some point.
The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver: This is a classic that I’ve heard great things about. I’m not totally sure if I’m going to love it, but again, it’s just one of those books that you need to read at some point.
Beastly (Beastly #1) by Alex Flinn: I’ve only ever read one fairytale retelling, but I’m interested in reading some more, so I decided to pick this one up. I guess it’s the first in a series? I’m not sure if I’m going to like it, but I want to try it out anyway.
The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides: This is another classic that I need to read. I have his other modern classic, Middlesex, as well, and I’m really excited to read both of them.
The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick: I LOVED this movie, but I didn’t realize that it was a book before I saw it! Now I have to read the book (my boyfriend is reading it, too!), and then we’ll re-watch the movie.
Take Me There by Carolee Dean: This is a bad-boy YA romance that has a ton of 5-star reviews on Goodreads. I’m on the fence about it, but for such a cheap price, I figured why not?
Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen: I read a few Sarah Dessen books back when I was in junior high, but I barely remember them at all. Back in October, I tried out my first read-as-an-adult Dessen book and I actually really liked it. I’m interested to read/re-read some more of her books.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think? What’s a book that you’ve bought recently?

5 responses to “Book Haul (#12): Local Used Bookstore (7 books!)

  1. Beastly and the Silver Linings playbook, is really good. I felt that the Silver Lining playbook, takes you on a psychological journey. And oh my goodness, Virgin Suicides is very good as well. You have got yourself some very good reads.

    • Thanks! I actually just finished The Silver Linings Playbook…it was so good! I’ll be posting my review of it on the blog in a couple weeks 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

  2. I LOVED The Golden Compass, it was one of the first books that I picked out on my own and will always remain special to me. Lyra was an amazing protagonist and I know you’ll love her. Can’t wait to see your thoughts on this one.

    I’ve been meaning to read The Poisonwood Bible for a while too, so I’m interested in hearing what you have to say about it.

    Beastly wasn’t one that was right for me, but I hope its a better reading experience for you. I love Beauty and the Beast so maybe I walked in with too high expectations.

    I loved the Silver Linings Playbook movie, and I DIDN’T KNOW IT WAS A BOOK EITHER! I will definitely be reading that soon.

    Great haul! 🙂

    • I’m really excited about The Golden Compass…I can’t believe that I haven’t read it yet. I’m not super into fantasy, but I’m really hoping that I end up loving it.

      The Silver Linings Playbook (the book) was SO GOOD. I loved the movie and the book was a tiny bit different but almost, if not just, as good! You should definitely read it soon 🙂

  3. Oh yes, I highly approve of buying from the local used bookstore! 😀 I’m excited to hear your thoughts on The Golden Compass. 🙂

Leave a Reply

