Me Since You by Laura Weiss {Book Review}

Me Since You by Laura Weiss

Title: Me Since You

Author: Laura Weiss

Series: Standalone

Publisher: MTV Books

Publication Date: 2-18-14

Pages: 368

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Source: ARC provided by publisher in exchange for honest review

If [Rowan] had known, on that Friday in March when she cut school, that a random stranger’s shocking crime would have traumatic consequences, she never would have left campus. If the crime video never went viral, maybe she could have saved her mother, grandmother — and herself — from the endless replay of heartache and grief.

Finding a soul mate in Eli, a witness to the crime who is haunted by losses of his own, Rowan begins to see there is no simple, straightforward path to healing wounded hearts. Can she learn to trust, hope, and believe in happiness again?

My Review

Wow. This book tore me apart. I was not expecting to become so emotionally invested in this story, but after reading about 20% of it, I couldn’t put it down. I became so connected to the characters in this story, especially to Rowan, the main character. One day, completely unexpectedly, a stranger commits an act that initiates an irrevocable chain of events that will forever impact Rowan’s and her family’s lives. Me Since You came out of nowhere and ripped my heart to pieces. In particular because of certain events in my own life that are currently happening, I was able to connect so fiercely with Rowan and her story, and I even almost cried. Blurry eyed, I somehow managed to finish this book and ended it feeling emotionally and physically drained, like I’d somehow experienced all of these events myself.

But this isn’t only a depressing story that will make you feel beyond all reason…it’s also a heartwarming tale of growing up, family bonds, and finding friendship and happiness even amidst the worst times of your life. Rowan’s struggles were so real to me. Weiss was able to so accurately portray Rowan’s feelings and relationships in a way that allowed me to become extremely engrossed in the story. Rowan isn’t perfect, and she recognizes that, but her fight to be the person she wants to be is so relatable and made me want to root for her. She goes through things that she should never have to go through at that age, and somehow comes out on the other side alive.

I loved how Weiss was able to incorporate a little bit of romance into this story, but not make it the focus of the book. Rowan has an adorable love interest, but he’s only a small part of Rowan’s journey, and I really appreciated that. I also liked how the ending was bittersweet. In keeping with the realistic nature of the novel itself, the story doesn’t end completely happily, but it gets wrapped up in a satisfying way that, while a little sad, is also a little bit sweet and hopeful as well.

Ultimately, I would highly recommend this book to any fans of dark contemporaries that deal with the issues of mental health and family relationships. I am such a fan of this book, and very much anticipate reading more from this author.

My Rating 5 Anchors

10 responses to “Me Since You by Laura Weiss {Book Review}

  1. You read this, too! 😀
    I can’t believe you didn’t cry! You must be a tough cookie, because by about half way, the tears were constantly on and off for me.
    I also liked how realistic it was. Grief is such a hard thing to read and write about, but Laura has done it really well. It’s great that she doesn’t take the easy way out with Eli!
    And isn’t Daisy and Eli adorable? 🙂

    • Haha I really thought that I was going to cry — I was surprised that I didn’t. But I don’t cry while reading very much, for some reason. I really liked how realistic it was, too. It really sounded like the author knew what she was talking about. I’ve never had a close family member like that die before, so I’ve never experienced it myself, but I could imagine feeling exactly like the MC did. Awww Daisy and Eli! I loved them 🙂

  2. So glad to read this review! I second everything you said here, Miranda. Because of my life situations currently, I was able to connect with Rowan really well too. I think that’s my favorite part about Weiss’s writing – everyone I’ve talked to can empathize with Rowan in a very personal way!

    And “almost” cried??? I wept buckets. BUCKETS.

    • I almost feel bad that I didn’t cry…like I’m heartless or something haha. The whole time, I WANTED to cry so bad. But for some reason I barely ever cry while reading. It’s kind of annoying actually 😛 But I was totally weeping tons of hypothetical buckets with you, I promise. I feel like we should talk sometime…we’re both going through some tough family stuff right now. I wish that I had somebody to talk to who’d been through something like what I’m going through right now :/ I don’t have anybody who really “understands.”

      • Not heartless! I have a friend who hardly cries at all with books. Everyone’s different 😀 I don’t cry in real life, but give me a gut-wrenching book and I’m a complete mess.

        You can always email me! I’m totally open (and wanting!) to talk 🙂 We need support in stuff like this – what else is the internet for??

      • Haha weird…I’m a total crier in real life. Not all the time, but probably more than average. And, oh my gosh, movies? I can barely watch the previews without tears rolling down my face. It’s pathetic haha. Okay, I’m totally emailing you right now.

Leave a Reply

