Books That Made Me Cry {Top Ten Tuesday}

Top Ten Tuesday

Okay, here’s my confession: I’m a crier. I cry…a lot. Like, pretty much always during movies. And sometimes even during commercials. I’m just an emotional person! Heartfelt moments get me. ButI don’t cry while reading. I don’t know why, because it makes no sense to me, but that’s the way it is. So here’s 5 books that have made me cry instead of 10, because I don’t even think that I’ve ever cried at that many books in my whole life.

 

Books That Made Me Cry

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: I’m sure that this will be on everybody’s list, but this one was special to me. I cried so hard while reading this book. Like the tears-streaming-down-your-face kind of crying. That had never happened to me before while reading! With these other books, it was just like a tear or two. And it hasn’t happened to me since. So this book will always hold a special place in my heart as one that made me bawl my eyes out like no other book has ever been able to do.

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult: I cried multiple times during this book! I don’t know if it would’ve happened had I not been listening to the audiobook, but man, it killed me.

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein: This was another audiobook I listened to, and yup, I fell prey to the animal story and broke down a little bit towards the end.

This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers: I’m still kind of shocked that I cried at this book. I mean…who cries at a zombie book? Especially somebody who barely ever cries while reading? I guess I do! But Courtney Summers was so masterful in how she set up the character relationships, and this book started to get pretty dark in its second half.

11/22/63 by Steven King: This book didn’t really make me cry, but I was definitely tearing up a little bit towards the end. I had just really connected with the characters and there were a few heartwarming and heartbreaking moments in the last few chapters that got to me.

9 responses to “Books That Made Me Cry {Top Ten Tuesday}

  1. This is so weird – I’m a total book-crier, but less of a movie crier! I can hold it in a lot better when watching a movie, for some reason. Books? Nope. I’m done. But I have a feeling TFIOS will be a crossover for me too – the TRAILER made me cry. I mean REALLY.

    • Hahaha. I definitely teared up at the trailer. I’m actually surprised that I didn’t cry while watching it! But, yeah…the movie is going to be BAD. Like, I’m going to have to watch it from home so that I don’t give a large audience front-row seats to my ugly crying.

  2. TFIOS killed me. Like a week-long depression followed reading that book. And I’m going to see the movie in the theaters and probably embarrass myself, but I just have to see it!! I haven’t read The Storyteller yet, but Jodi Picoult always seems to get me. This is Not a Test got me too Sloane was just so damaged!!!… and I got 11/22/63 for Christmas, so I look forward to reading it 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

  3. I don’t cry while reading, either! And like you I’m also someone who is very emotional and cries over other things all the time. I don’t understand how this is either. But funny that we have this in common! I have to admit that I didn’t cry while reading The Fault in Our Stars. I really think I’m the only person! But I got very emotional seeing the trailer. Is that crazy? Maybe I’m just more emotional when I see visuals!

Leave a Reply

