The Titanic {Historical Fiction Spotlight}

Besides young adult fiction, my second most-favorite genre to read is historical fiction. Maybe it’s because my dad is a historian, but ever since I was little, I’ve loved reading stories set in the past.

I thought that I’d create a cool new feature on my blog where I take an event or time period in history and showcase 10 novels (both adult and young adult) that take place during it.

For my first Historical Fiction Spotlight, I chose to share with you 10 novels about the Titanic! I’m pretty sure I asked for the Titanic movie for my 13th birthday, which was when my parents would finally let me watch it (since it’s PG-13), and I watched it…again and again. I will admit, unembarrassed, that it’s still one of my all-time favorites.

Recently, I realized that I’ve never actually read a book on the topic, though, which surprised me because of how into historical fiction I am. So, no, I haven’t read any of the books on this list. But they are all currently on my TBR and I even own on of them (Fateful). I scoured Goodreads for about an hour, looking for every single book even remotely about the Titanic, and these are the ones I thought looked the most interesting, and had the best ratings. See, I already did all the grunt work for you! Now all you have to do is click on the links 🙂

 

10 Historical Fiction Novels About the Titanic

12384157

The Dressmaker by Kate Alcott

“Tess, an aspiring seamstress…is hired by famous designer Lady Lucile Duff Gordon to be a personal maid on the Titanic’s doomed voyage. Once on board, Tess catches the eye of two men, one a roughly-hewn but kind sailor and the other an enigmatic Chicago millionaire.”

12156346

By the Light of the Silvery Moon by Tricia Goyer

“To Amelia Gladstone, this ship means promise of seeing family again. To Quentin Walpole, theTitanic represents a new start in America…if he can get onboard. All seems lost until Amelia offers him a ticket, securing his passage—and bringing him face-to-face with his railroad tycoon father and older brother, Damian. As Amelia works to reconcile father and son, she finds herself the object of both brothers’ affection.”

9473340

Unsinkable by Gordon Korman

“Paddy is a stowaway, escaping a deadly past. Sophie’s mother is delivered to the ship by police – after she and Sophie have been arrested. Juliana’s father is an eccentric whose riches can barely hide his madness. And Alfie is hiding a secret that could get him kicked off the ship immediately.”

13540346

The Girl Who Came Home by Hazel Gaynor

“17-year-old Maggie Murphy is anxious about the trip to America… [She] is distraught to be leaving Séamus, the man she loves with all her heart…Harry Walsh boards Titanic as a Third Class Steward, excited to be working on this magnificent ship…Harry befriends Maggie and…offers to help [her] send a telegram home to Séamus. But…when Titanic hits an iceberg, Maggie’s message is only partly transmitted, leaving Séamus confused by what he reads.”

9874342

Fateful by Claudia Gray

“When she meets Alec, a handsome upper class passenger, Tess falls helplessly in love. But Alec has secrets of his own… and soon Tess is entangled in a dangerous game. A sinister brotherhood that will do anything to induct Alec into their mystical order has followed him onboard. And Tess is now their most powerful pawn.”

6643868

No Moon by Irene N. Watts

“Louisa Gardener is the fourteen-year-old nursemaid to the young daughters of a wealthy, titled family living in London, England, in 1912, [who] decides to sail to New York aboard the Titanic. Louisa cannot refuse, although she dreads even the mention of the ocean. Memories she has suppressed, except in nightmares, come crowding back.”

12261276

Promise Me This by Cathy Gohlke

“Michael Dunnagan was never supposed to sail on the ‘Titanic,’ nor would he have survived if not for the courage of Owen Allen. [He] is determined to carry out his promise to care for Owen’s relatives in America and his younger sister, Annie… Just as Michael saves enough money to bring Annie to America, WWI erupts in Europe. When Annie’s letters mysteriously stop, Michael risks everything to fulfill his promise–and find the woman he’s grown to love–before she’s lost forever.”

12453199

Destined by Allison Kraft

“Apolline Greer, last in a long line of vampire hunters, finds herself suddenly transported…to an eerily familiar ocean liner cabin—as well as the entirely unfamiliar body of her ancestor, Noelle Greer… The Titanic is on a collision course with destiny, and she only has four days to complete her quest.”

10814693

The Watch That Ends the Night by Allan Wolf

“Arrogance and innocence, hubris and hope–twenty-four haunting voices of the Titanic tragedy, as well as the iceberg itself, are evoked in a stunning tour de force.”

13240806

Forget Me Not by Sue Lawson

“‘I am filled with the worst feeling. Everyone says it is the safest, most luxurious ship in the world, but something about it is extremely unsettling.’ Evelyn Gilmore does not share her brother Thomas’s excitement about traveling on the maiden voyage of the luxurious Titanic. For Evelyn the ship is taking her away from everything she knows and loves. For Thomas it is taking him to his new life.”

3 responses to “The Titanic {Historical Fiction Spotlight}

  1. Oh my goodness Miranda, I absolutely LOVE this new feature! I haven’t heard of any of these books before, but now I’m intrigued to read a few. Especially The Dressmaker, The Girl Who Came Home, and Promise Me This. If you don’t already have it, I just checked and The Dressmaker ebook is on sale for $1.99 right now. YAY! Looking forward to seeing what you think of these.

Leave a Reply

