Weekly Wrap-Up (#15)

Weekly Wrap-Up is a post I share with you guys every Friday, in which I highlight all things bookish that I did in the past week — the books I read, the books I bought, books that I got from the library, and great posts that I found on other people’s blogs.

 

What’s Going on in My Life This Week:

Yesterday there was a pretty decent snow storm in Rhode Island, and now we’re having to deal with the consequences. This morning we realized that one of our pipes froze since it’s so cold out, so we’re working on trying to fix the problem so that it doesn’t burst and flood the basement! But that’s more of my boyfriend’s job…so I’m snuggled up all cozy in bed doing some work, and I even had a chance to make a delicious pot of chicken noodle soup 🙂

 

Books I Finished This Week:

This past Sunday was the 24-hour readathon hosted by Brianna’s Bookish Confessions, so I ended up reading quite a few books this week!

Books I Finished This Week

  1. Out of Breath (Breathing #3) by Rebecca Donovan
  2. 11/22/63 by Steven King
  3. Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5) by Richelle Mead
  4. Last Sacrifice Vampire Academy (#6) by Richelle Mead
  5. The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp

 

Books I Bought/Received This Week:

Books I Bought This Week

  1. Hopeless by Colleen Hoover (ebook)
  2. Finding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover (ebook)
  3. Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2) by Katie McGarry (ebook)

 

Awesome Posts from Other Bloggers:

5 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up (#15)

  1. Snow storm! D:
    Hope everything’s all fixed soon!

    Did you like Out of Breath? To be honest, that book was a DNF for me (which is saying something, because I really don’t give out too many DNFs). I just couldn’t take all the drama…

    • Haha yeah it was a little dramatic, you’re right. But sometimes I get into that angsty stuff…I just have to be in the mood for it. And I think it helped that I read the whole series back-to-back. I ended up giving Out of Breath four stars. I’m still unsure about my rating, though, but I liked it overall. And I liked it better than the second book, which I thought was pretty not-that-great, but a lot of people think the opposite of me. I just had trouble with the series as a whole. Like the idea of it was really good, it was hard to put down, and the writing was entertaining and flowed well, but the author made a lot of weird choices in how she went about creating the plot. It was hard for me to get a feel on how many stars I wanted to give each book because I was confused. Like part of me wanted to give the last book 2 stars for all of the things I didn’t like about it…but then another part really enjoyed it. And I usually don’t get like this about books, I’m normally pretty cut-and-dry about ratings, but this series has me second-guessing myself with all three books.

    • I was kind of “eh” on The Spectacular Now. I didn’t like it as much as I thought I was going to. But my review will go live on February 10th, and I kind of explain why I wasn’t so crazy about it. Mostly, I just couldn’t connect with the main character. Have you read it?

Leave a Reply

