2013 End of Year Book Survey

Woohoo! I’ve been dying to fill out this awesome 2013 End of Year Book Survey from The Perpetual Page-Turner, but I wanted to wait until the official end of 2013 before actually doing it, just in case I read some amazing stuff at the last minute.

I’m going to try not to repeat books as best as I can! (Let’s see how that works out for me…) So some of these answers might not be my absolute top choice, but I read enough books this year that any I mention are going to be awesome ones that I loved.

 

best-teen-books-2013-1024x255
1. Best Book You Read In 2013? (If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

I’m definitely going to have to do this by genre, haha.

Dystopian = Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) by Tahereh Mafi

Fantasy = Siege and Storm (Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo

Paranormal = Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4) by Richelle Mead

Contemporary = The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

New Adult = The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

Historical Fiction = The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult

Thriller = Catch Me (D.D. Warren #6) by Lisa Gardner

Non-fiction = Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

Classic = The Cider House Rules by John Irving

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Allegiant by Veronica Roth was probably the most hyped and biggest disappointment of 2o13.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013?

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I totally expected to hate this book, but then I ended up getting really sucked in!

4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

That’s definitely Terra by Gretchen Powell. It’s the most underrated book that I gave 5 stars to this year. Everybody needs to read it!

5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

The Too Good duology by S. Walden.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

Leah Raeder, author of Unteachable…not because I’ve read a ton of books by her (only her debut), but because of how awesome a person she is! And, okay yeah, her book is pretty freaking awesome, too 😉

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

Desert of the Heart by Jane Rule. It’s a classic novel about a lesbian relationship written in 1964. I was completely blown away by how much I ended up liking it.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

I definitely had a ton of trouble putting down Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo…I read the whole thing in one night!

9. Book you read in 2013 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

I’m not a huge re-reader. But I think that I’m probably going to attempt to do an A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin re-read this year (most of which I read in 2013).

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

13000748

11. Most memorable character in 2013?

Obviously, the Darkling from the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013?

Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes. I had a lot of trouble forgetting about this book after I read it. It was just really creepy and brought up some bad memories. But I did actually like it.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read?

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead…what the heck took me so long?!

15. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2013?

“Astonishingly, at some point, a sputtering torch was thrust into her hands. Alma did not see who gave it to her. She had never before been entrusted with fire. The torch spit sparks and sent chunks of flaming tar spinning into the air behind her as she bolted across the cosmos — the only body in the heavens who was not held to a straight elliptical path. Nobody stopped her. She was a comet. She did not know that she was not flying.”

~ Elizabeth Gilbert, The Signature of All Things

16. Shortest and longest book you read in 2013?

Longest bookA Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin (1,117 pages!)

Shortest bookRuin by C.J. Scott (126 pages)

Shortest short story/novellaThe Meeting by Richelle Mead (3 pages)

17. Book that had a scene in it that had you reeling and dying to talk to somebody about it? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3) by Richelle Mead….OH MY GOD.

18. Favorite relationship from a book you read in 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc.)?

Romantic = Evan and Emma in Reason to Breathe by Rebecca Donovan

Friendship = Michael and Nora in The Angel (The Original Sinners #2) by Tiffany Reisz

19. Favorite book you read in 2013 from an author you’ve read previously?

The Bungalow by Sarah Jio. I’m not a huge fan of hers in general, but I read a lot of new-to-me authors this year, and this is my favorite book of hers so far.

20. Best book you read in 2013 that you read based SOLELY on a recommendation from somebody else:

Fire Country by David Estes. Such an underrated book!

21: Genre you read the most from in 2013?

Well the most is obviously from the young adult genre, and then within that genre it was paranormal (which actually surprised me).

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?

Wallace Blake from Strength by Carrie Butler

23: Best 2013 debut you read?

Shredded by Karen Avivi. Every young teenage girl needs to read this book!

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. This book was so descriptive, and I was really impressed with the author’s ability to transform the world into what it might look like from a dog’s perspective. This book is a must-read for any animal lover!

25. Book that was the most fun to read in 2013?

Official Book Club Selection: A Memoir According to Kathy Griffin by Kathy Griffin. I love Kathy Griffin, and this book was hilarious!

26. Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2013?

This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

27. Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

Feral Sins by Suzanne Wright. It’s a paranormal romance about werewolves. I was super hesitant to read it, but ended up adoring it. I didn’t like the second book in the series, though, unfortunately.

reading-life-2013 

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2013? 

Well, I discovered all of the book blogs I follow this year, since I just got into this community recently!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2013? 

Oh my god, seriously? I wrote like 156 book reviews this year. I honestly have no clue. I guess maybe my series review of The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay? I did a re-read of them this year before I saw the movie, and was actually impressed that I was able to write coherent reviews about them. Both because I love the series so much and because I’d read them previously.

3. Best discussion you had on your blog?

Definitely Do You Pre-Plan Your TBRs for Each Month? Lots of people commented and I loved hearing about how everybody else goes about picking (or not picking!) the books they’re going to read next.

4. Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on somebody else’s blog?

I really, really liked Kelley’s post Having Feelings for Fictional Characters. I wrote a huge comment on that one. I love that she brought up the topic of book girlfriends vs. book boyfriends.

5. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I didn’t participate in any bookish events in “real life” this year. Why are there like none of those in New England?? But I really liked participating in Bout of Books 8.0.

6. Best moment of book blogging/your book life in 2013?

When I started my new book blog, Tempest Books, of course! I love blogging about books, and I was so excited and happy to be joining this awesome community.

7. Most popular post this year on your blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

A lot of people loved my Most Anticipated Books of 2014 post, in which I listed 55 books that I’m excited to read in the upcoming year. I also did a Most Anticipated Books of 2014 Part II with 45 books, just in case you wanted to check that one out, too. I’m planning on doing a third installment next week! There’s a lot of books I can’t wait to read this year!

8. Post you wished got a little more love?

I guess maybe my post about my first time reading a graphic novel. I was hoping to get more opinions from you guys, as to whether you liked them or not/maybe some suggestions for future reading.

9. Best bookish discovery (book-related sites, book stores, etc)?

Probably BookOutlet.com. I’ve ordered so many books from them this year! And the used bookstore that’s a few minutes down the street from my house. I’ve visited there quite a few times this year 🙂

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of the year?

Yup! I went WAY above and beyond my Goodreads goal of 60 books and read 156 books!! And I achieved almost all of my monthly goals, too, I think. And I read the six books I wanted to during Bout of Books. It was a good year!

2014-books

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2013 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2014?

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I just got this for my birthday and I’ve been dying to read it for so long!

2. Book you are most anticipating for 2014 (non-debut)?

Ummm there’s way too many! I have 150 books in my “most anticipated 2014” shelf on Goodreads, haha. But you can check out my Most Anticipated 2014 and Most Anticipated 2014 Part II posts. I’d say that Panic by Lauren Oliver is at the tippety-top of my list, though.

3. 2014 debut you are most anticipating?

Again, there’s a lot, but A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller sounds really good!

4. Series ending you are most anticipating in 2014?

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo! But Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi is a super close second.

5. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging in 2014?

I signed up for two yearly challenges for 2014, and I really want to stick with them for the whole year. I also want to go to BEA and read 200 books!

9 responses to “2013 End of Year Book Survey

  1. I love that you love Leigh Bardugo’s work so much! So do I. I think she is fantastic. And the Darkling. Just. Wow. Haha. I love his character so much, even if he IS evil. 😛
    I absolutely love the cover of Born of Illusion. I borrowed it out from the library (but unfortunately never read it), and the pages were the kind that are all crinkly cut – if that makes sense. It made the book all the more beautiful, in my opinion.
    I still need to read the Shatter Me books! Everyone is raving about them. I have the first one ready to read, so maybe I can read it very soon.
    The blogging community is pretty fantastic, I must say 😀

    • I actually only gave Shadow and Bone 3.5 stars I think! I read it all in one sitting, but I wasn’t as totally in love with it as I expected to be. But then Siege and Storm was AMAAAAAAZING, haha. I’m really excited for the final novel of the series 🙂 Yes, I LOVE the Darkling’s character. He’s so interesting and like no other character I’ve come across.

      The Born of Illusion cover is SO pretty! I got mine from the library, too, but now I wish I had my own copy. I’m not loving the cover of the second book, though :/

      Yeah, I love the Shatter Me series, but it’s definitely not for everyone. You’ll have to let me know what you think when you get around to reading it 🙂

      • Aw, no! But at least you loved S&S 😀 I know, right! I cannot wait until Ruin and Rising. It comes out right around my birthday 😀 Exactly. I love reading about crazy unique characters like him.

        I am definitely in love with that cover. I think I shall read it, and then definitely buy it if I like it. I love vintage-y books. Aw, no. D:

        I definitely will! I hope to start it very soon. 🙂

  2. So I went to look up Terra since you liked it so much, only to realize it’s already on my wishlist. Does that ever happen to you? o_O I also looked up Into the Darkest Corner. It looks interesting, but I’m beginning to realize that perhaps you enjoy more contemporary books than I do!

    I hadn’t thought of The Art of Racing in the Rain to be all that vivid, but I think you have a point. He was quite good at conveying things from a dog’s point of view!

    Aww, thanks for including my book girlfriends post as your favorite!! I’m really glad that you liked it; its a subject I wish would get more attention. 😛 I can’t believe it took me so long to find your blog, because it’s clear we have a lot in common! I need to go check out your Most Anticipated 2014 posts and the one about your first time reading a manga!

    (Also, what is this BookOutlet.com you speak of?! Going there now!!)

    • Yes, that happens to me all the time! I have like 1500 books on my Goodreads “to read” list!

      Haha I actually am not a fan of contemporary. Well I guess I’m not a fan of YA contemporary. I’ll occasionally read adult psychological thrillers, but that’s about it. And I guess The Art of Racing in the Rain was contemporary, too, but I’m not really sure what genre that would go in. And sometimes those like “book club books” are things I might check out. But it’s definitely not the majority of what I read. I am trying to branch out a little bit, though. Recently I read The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson which is an upcoming-release contemporary YA, and it was pretty good. I’m more into historical fiction and dystopians. Oh and I guess New Adult would count as contemporary? I did read quite a few of those in 2013. But, to me, I’d consider that it’s own genre separate from contemporary. Genres are confusing, though, haha.

      Wait, seriously, you’ve never heard of BookOutlet.com?? IT’S AMAZING. It takes a lot of flipping through pages to find stuff, but once you get the hang of their site, you can get awesome deals. Check out my BookOutlet book hauls (go to categories: “Book Hauls” in my sidebar) and see if those are the kinds of books you might be interested in. On the site, go to “New Arrivals” and then click on “Children’s Fiction” on the left. That’s where I usually find the good stuff.

      I’m glad you like my blog!! 🙂 I just started blogging maybe like three months ago? (Well, on this blog). So I’m not surprised that you haven’t noticed me before.

  3. I am going to BEA this year too!!! I don’t know if you’ve been before, but this is going to be my first time and I’m really getting excited.

    This is Not a Test and TFIOS were favs of mine from last year. I can’t imagine not at least tearing up for either one. Emotional stuff. I want to read Obsidian. I own it, so I really should read it, but I usually don’t go for those types of romances. But I guess if you were pleasantly surprised by it, I might be too??? And you won’t regret reading Fangirl… it’s amazing and I’ll bet will be on your Best of 2014 list at the end of the year 🙂

    • I don’t know if I’m DEFINITELY going to BEA…but I really, really hope to. I’ve never been before and I’m so excited!

      Fangirl has been hyped up so much, but I really do think that I’m going to enjoy it. I don’t always love contemporary, but it seems like the type of contemporary that I could get into. And from what I’ve heard of it, I’m very intrigued.

      I don’t know about Obsidian for you, though. I was more pleasantly surprised about the aliens part being actually not incredibly stupid (although it is a little bit stupid, to be honest). The romance part was the part that I was hoping would get me through the sci-fi haha. I’m not really a sci-fi girl…although I’m hoping to read more from that genre this year and try to get into it a little bit. So if you’re less interested in romance and more interested in sci-fi…this is probably not the book for you. But, hey, it might still surprise you, I don’t know. Don’t take my word for it!

Leave a Reply

