2014 New Year’s Bookish Resolutions

I’ve always been super into reading, ever since my parents first taught me. I’ve always been known as the one who’s always reading, who brings a book everywhere, and is the person to ask if you’re looking for a good recommendation. But I was never serious about my reading until the second half of this year, really.

That’s when I realized that I could really be reading so many more books each month than I normally had been, and that there were tons of other people out there reading hundreds of books each year! So I started reading more. And then a little more. And then a little more. And now I consistently read somewhere between 15-20 books each month, and I’m really proud of that!

But I want to do even more in 2014 than I did in this past year…so I’m going to set some awesome New Year’s Bookish Resolutions!

 

5 books per month

This can be a physical copy or an ebook (not an ARC), but I just need to really start reading from my personal TBR pile, because it’s starting to get a little bit insane…as in I have an entire TBR bookcase, and there’s still a ton spilling over onto piles on the floor/on my desk/basically everywhere.

5 arcs

This is something that I’ve been kind of doing in general, but I want to make it a rule, so that I keep on doing it every month. I really want to work on my NetGalley ratio.

1 nonfiction

Until recently (the past two years or so?), I was totally not into non-fiction. But then I discovered that nonfiction doesn’t have to mean boring! There have been a bunch that I’ve read and loved, but I haven’t been reading this genre consistently, and I want to start, because there are so many good ones that I really want to get to!

1 cookbook

It’s no secret that I love cooking. But I rarely ever read cookbooks and I’m always looking for more ideas to create my own recipes for myself and my boyfriend. I’m really excited about this particular resolution!

1 event

The only bookish event I’ve ever been to was a Jodi Picoult book reading/signing that I went to in high school. I loved it so much, but I’ve never been to another one. Mostly because there are seriously no events like this in Rhode Island, where I live. But I’m really hoping to go to BEA this year, so maybe I’ll be able to cross this one off my list!

What are some of your bookish resolutions?

7 responses to “2014 New Year’s Bookish Resolutions

  1. I should probably read more of the books I own every month too! My TBR pile at home is cray! I haven’t listed down my bookish resolutions for next year yet but from the top of my head, I’d like to write more book reviews and finish my reading challenges. 🙂

    • Oh yeah, duh, I should’ve included that I want to complete the 2014 challenges I’m signing up for (TBR pile & review pile).

      I’ve heard a lot of people saying how they have trouble keeping up with reviews as well…I feel like I’m the only person who doesn’t have this problem, haha. I don’t know, I just always write my reviews right after I finish a book, so I don’t have to worry about it. But those are great resolutions 🙂

  2. Pingback: January 2014 TBR |·

  3. Pingback: February 2014 TBR |·

  4. Pingback: How Much Money I Save By Using the Library |·

  5. Pingback: April 2014 TBR |·

  6. Pingback: May 2014 TBR |·

Leave a Reply

