100 Books to Read Before I Die

There are so many lists out there that let me know me all of the books that I need to read in my lifetime…but they’re either unrealistically long, way too short, or I’ve already read half of them. So I decided to have some fun (yes, this is what I call fun 😉 ) and come up with my own 100 Books to Read Before I Die list, made up of all books that I personally want to eventually read.

Some of my choices are for fun, some of my choices are classics, and two of them are poetry. But these are the things that I wanted to put on my personal book bucket list. I can’t wait to get started on this list and be able to cross some of them out!

100 Books to Read Before I Die:

  1. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
  2. White Oleander by Janet Fitch
  3. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  4. The Shack by Wm. Paul Young
  5. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
  6. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  7. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  8. Crank by Ellen Hopkins
  9. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  10. Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  11. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  12. Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee by Dee Brown
  13. Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
  14. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
  15. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  16. The Pilot’s Wife by Anita Shreve
  17. American Gods by Neil Gaiman
  18. Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen
  19. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
  20. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
  21. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving
  22. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  23. Why We Can’t Wait by Martin Luther King, Jr.
  24. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
  25. For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemmingway
  26. The Stand by Steven King
  27. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez
  28. The Story of My Life by Helen Keller
  29. Just One Day by Gayle Forman
  30. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  31. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
  32. Dead Poets Society by N.H. Kleinbaum
  33. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
  34. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys
  35. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  36. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows
  37. The Color Purple by Alice Walker
  38. The Duke and I by Julia Quinn
  39. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
  40. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
  41. Incest: From a Journal of Love by Anaïs Nin
  42. Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel
  43. On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
  44. Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
  45. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
  46. Catch Me if You Can by Frank W. Abagnale
  47. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupéry
  48. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  49. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
  50. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  51. Seabiscuit: An American Legend by Laura Hillenbrand
  52. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
  53. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
  54. Fight Club by Chucke Palahniuk
  55. Angels & Demons by Dan Brown
  56. The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons
  57. Sybil: The Classic True Story of a Woman Possessed by Sixteen Personalities by Flora Rheta Schreiber
  58. Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers
  59. The Hours by Michael Cunningham
  60. Looking for Alaska by John Green
  61. These Is My Words by Nancy E. Turner
  62. Maus — A Survivor’s Tale: My Father Bleeds History by Art Spiegelman
  63. Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
  64. The Tempest by William Shakespeare
  65. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  66. 100 Love Sonnets by Pablo Neruda
  67. If I Stay by Gayle Forman
  68. Saturday by Ian McEwan
  69. Someone Knows My Name by Lawrence Hill
  70. Coraline by Neil Gaiman
  71. I Am Nujood: Age 10 and Divorced by Nujood Ali
  72. Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
  73. Unwind by Neal Schusterman
  74. 102 Minutes: The Untold Story of the Fights to Survive Inside the Twin Towers by Jim Dwyer & Kevin Flynn
  75. Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
  76. Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane
  77. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
  78. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
  79. Slave: My True Story by Mende Nazer
  80. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
  81. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
  82. The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick
  83. Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion
  84. Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier
  85. Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella
  86. Arcadia by Tom Stoppard
  87. Every Day by David Levithan
  88. Homicide: A Year on the Killing Streets by David Simon
  89. The Angel Experiment by James Patterson
  90. The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman
  91. Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters
  92. Naked by David Sedaris
  93. Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning
  94. Amber House by Kelly Moore
  95. Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
  96. Empty Chairs by Stacey Danson
  97. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  98. The Violets of March by Sarah Jio
  99. The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
  100. Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult

What are some books that are your book bucket list? Have you read any of the ones on mine?

6 responses to “100 Books to Read Before I Die

  1. Wow, very ambitious list! You do realize you could probably breeze through all of these in a year if you tried:) I’ve read quite a few of these, but I’d agree, some of them I’d want to get to before I die, too!

  2. I see that A Monster Calls is on your list. And yeah, you should read it before you die 😛 I remember reading The Hobbit when I was a little kid. I really had no idea of what was happen and was basically just reading it because my dad loved it so much, but I enjoyed it anyways, in a weird little kid way O_o

  3. I’ve read Pride and Prejudice (major favorite of mine), The Picture of Dorian Grey, Gone with the Wind (top ten favorite book), The Lightning Thief, Little Women (still need to read Little Men & Jo’s Boys, though), The Little Prince, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Looking for Alaska, Shutter Island and The Violets of March (I love all of Sarah Jio’s books). So, I guess I’ve read quite a few of yours! I hadn’t thought to make my own bucket list of books – I usually just peruse the supposed top 100 must read lists. Good idea!

    • Yeah I’ve read a lot of those lists, but I wanted something a little bit more personalized. And because usually I’ve read a big chunk of those lists and I wanted a clean 100.

Leave a Reply

