Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

Top Ten Tuesday

 

 

Top Ten New-to-Me Authors of 2013:

 

10194157

Leigh Bardugo (Shadow and Bone)

This year I read the first two books in the Grisha trilogy, as well as the three Grisha novellas, and loved them. I have to admit that I wasn’t crazy about the first book, Shadow and Bone, but I thought that Siege and Storm was amazing.

17978680

Leah Raeder (Unteachable)

Ohhh…this book. One of my favorite reads of the year, Leah Raeder’s writing is completely captivating and exciting. I’ve never read anything like this book before, and I’m so excited about her untitled upcoming novel for 2014. She’s also a super awesome person as well. She’s funny, really smart, and writes spot-on, thoughtful Goodreads reviews.

13455782

Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me)

This year, I read all of Mafi’s currently published books and novellas in the Shatter Me series and I’m seriously obsessed. I love her lyrical writing and the uniqueness of Warren’s character. I can’t wait to find out what happens in the third and final book!

10232734

Lauren Oliver (Delirium)

As much as I hate these covers, I fell in love with the story behind the Delirium series, and read all three books and all four novellas during 2013. I didn’t love the ending of the series, but Oliver still snagged a spot in my Top Ten list because of how much I loved Delirium. I haven’t read Before I Fall yet, but I hope to soon and I have a feeling I’m really going to like it!

17801215

S. Walden (Good)

This year, I read S. Walden’s Too Good series and really, really liked both books. She is one of the best New Adult writers out there, and her story lines and characters are so original and well-written. These books will get inside your mind and really make you think.

11720382

Lisa Gardner (Catch Me)

Most of what I read is YA fiction, but I love dabbling in other genres as well. One of my other favorites is thrillers, and earlier this year I found a great new-to-me thriller author, Lisa Gardner, and I’ve been devouring her books ever since. Catch Me was the first of her D.D. Warren series that I read and, so far, it’s my favorite of hers.

7728889

Libba Bray (The Diviners)

I only read one of Bray’s books this year, but I was really impressed with her writing. While I had multiple problems with the story line of the book (I only rated it 3.5 stars), I was so in love with her language, writing style, and descriptions that I couldn’t not put Bray on this list. I really want to try out more of her work; I own Beauty Queens but haven’t read it yet.

6663839

Chloe Neill (Some Girls Bite)

This series is so underrated. I’ve only read the first two books, but so far it’s been amazing. It’s hilarious and witty, ala Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and I love the sexual tension between Merit and Ethan. I would highly recommend this series if you’re into urban fantasy/paranormal romance.

11870085

John Green (The Fault in Our Stars)

I can’t believe that I’d never read a John Green book until this year! So, yeah, I read TFioS and freaking loved it, so he’s definitely one of my stand-out new-to-me authors for 2013.

345627

Richelle Mead (Vampire Academy)

Nope…I hadn’t read anything by Richelle Mead before this year either! At the time this post is being written (November 22), I’m currently on the third book in the Vampire Academy series, Shadow Kiss, and I’m really liking it! Her books are well-written and very engrossing.

Who are some of your favorite new authors you read this year? Link up below!

5 responses to “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

  1. Now that you read TFIOS, you should read Looking for Alaska. It’s so good… and it’s pretty short, so you can read it super fast. Libba Bray also made my list because I loved The Diviners. So much had to go into that book. I had some parts of it I didn’t care for either, but it felt so real and the writing was so good! I also read a book by S. Walden this year and really liked it. I would definitely read more from her.

    My TTT

  2. I also discovered Libba Bray this year! She is fantastic! I haven’t read The Diviners (except the first chapter browsing in the library) but it’s in my TBR pile, although I may wait till the series is done. If you like her you should definitely read The Gemma Doyle trilogy.

  3. You have to read the rest of John Green’s books! I’ve been addicted since I read Looking for Alaska several years ago.

Leave a Reply

