The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food From My Frontier {Cookbook Review}

The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food From My Frontier

Title: The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food From My Frontier

Author: Ree Drummond

Publisher: William Morrow Cookbooks

Publication Date: 3-13-12

Pages: 304

Genre: Cookbook

My Review

Unfortunately, I just think that this cookbook isn’t for me. I’m a huge fan of the recipe blog community, as I have one of my own (Biting Life), and I fully respect The Pioneer Woman and support her franchise’s success, but this cookbook was just lacking. It didn’t contain a whole lot of recipes, most were meals that I’ve seen done again and again, and not a whole lot of it actually looked that good or were things I’m interested in cooking.

The one really great thing that I can say about it, is that it has wonderful step-by-step photographs. This would be super helpful for a cooking beginner, and I do like getting to see the whole process. But honestly it did start to get annoying when each recipe was 2-4 pages long. I want to be able to easily save these recipes for future use, and there was no good way to accomplish that with Food From My Frontier.

Luckily, but sadly, I only found one recipe that I wanted to save. This book was such a disappointment! While I’m sure that many foodie newbies will devour this book and give it sincere praise, I was looking for recipes a bit more fresh and fun.

(see this review on Goodreads)

My Rating 2.5 anchors

Leave a Reply

