The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks {Book Review}

17407748

Title: The Longest Ride

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Publication Date: 9-17-13

Pages: 398

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

Source: Library

Ira Levinson is in trouble. At ninety-one years old, in poor health and alone in the world, he finds himself stranded on an isolated embankment after a car crash. Suffering multiple injuries, he struggles to retain consciousness until a blurry image materializes and comes into focus beside him: his beloved wife Ruth, who passed away nine years ago. Ira knows that Ruth can’t possibly be in the car with him, but he clings to her words and his memories, reliving the sorrows and everyday joys that defined their marriage.

A few miles away, at a local rodeo, a Wake Forest College senior’s life is about to change. Recovering from a recent break-up, Sophia Danko meets a young cowboy named Luke, who bears little resemblance to the privileged frat boys she has encountered at school. Through Luke, Sophia is introduced to a world in which the stakes of survival and success, ruin and reward — even life and death — loom large in everyday life. As she and Luke fall in love, Sophia finds herself imagining a future far removed from her plans — a future that Luke has the power to rewrite…if the secret he’s keeping doesn’t destroy it first.

Short and Sweet

I wasn’t expecting to like this, but I really enjoyed this adorable story, especially because there was a cowboy involved. I would recommend this to anybody looking for a fun and light read, although I do think that this book goes a deeper than your typical “chick lit” romance.

My Review

“She was always stronger and smarter and better at everything, and I think again that, of the two of us, I made the better choice so long ago. I still don’t know why she chose me. While she was exceptional, I was average, a man whose major accomplishment in life was to love her without reservation.” 

I’m not somebody who often reads “chick lit,” or really anything described as “cute,” but The Longest Ride was exactly what I needed after coming off of a month where I read nothing but creepy books for Halloween. It was the perfect palette cleanser, and I was more than a little surprised by how much I actually ended up liking it.

I’ve never read a book about a cowboy before, but I’ve always been very attracted to the idea of a “country boy,” so I loved reading about Luke and his relationship with Sophia. I thought that he was a really special character, and I was able to connect with him in a way that I’m not able to connect to most male characters in the novels I read. He was so down-to-earth, loving, and interesting. I really liked reading about his bull riding career, as I previously knew nothing about that world, and his relationship with his mother was so touching.

I liked Sophia as well, but I have to admit that I had a harder time connecting with her. There wasn’t really much to go on with her personality besides the fact that she’s a (begrudging) sorority girl who likes art and comes from an immigrant family. I wish that I had been able to relate with her more…I didn’t understand her connection to art in the first place, or why the heck she was in a sorority that she claimed to be so apathetic about, or why she was best friends with such a twit. Her character was just very one-dimensional and kind of boring.

The other part of this book, Ira and Ruth’s love story, was so sweet. At first, I wasn’t totally into reading Ira’s chapters, but I quickly became a huge fan of his. I loved his flashbacks as he reminisced about his life-long relationship with his true love, Ruth. Their relationship was so amazing and inspiring. We also end up finding out how Luke’s and Sophia’s relationship coincides with Ira’s and Ruth’s, and I have to say that I did not see it coming at all, and I really like it when I haven’t figured out the “twist” beforehand.

Ultimately, I really enjoyed this romantic book and had a lot of fun reading about Luke’s and Ira’s lives. Although it felt awkward that I couldn’t connect with the (arguably) main character, Sophia, and the story did drag for me a little bit in places. But for someone who isn’t a diehard Nicholas Sparks fan, and who doesn’t really like the “chick lit” genre in general, I was really able to appreciate this for what it was, and will probably read even more books by him in the future.

(see this review on Goodreads)

 

My Rating 4 Anchors

3 responses to “The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks {Book Review}

  1. I haven’t actually read any Nicholas Sparks before, and part of the reason for that is probably because my co-blogger hate his books and tells me to burn them all. lol. I am thinking of giving one a go at some point, though, just to see what all the fuss is about. Sounds like this one might be a good one to start with. (Even though Sophia seems like a terrible character…)

    • I’m not sure that this is a great one to start with. I’m not a Nicholas Sparks expert by any means, but my most favorite of his books is The Last Song which I thought was really, really good when I read it a couple years ago, so I’d probably suggest starting with that one.

      I think that Nicholas Sparks is at the same time both very underrated and overrated, haha. A lot of people are just obsessed with him, but he’s honestly not that good, but then on the other side there are a lot of people that hate him, even though he’s really not horrible either.

      Sophia wasn’t an awful character…she just wasn’t a particularly interesting or well-rounded one, which was weird because she was (partly) the narrator. But maybe other people could connect with her more than I did.

      • Ah, okay. I’ve actually seen the movie of The Last Song (which I thought was alright). I guess I can give the book a go 🙂

Leave a Reply

