Book Review: Beautiful Broken Rules by Kimberly Lauren

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17729712-beautiful-broken-rules

Title: Beautiful Broken Rules

Author: Kimberly Lauren

Series: Broken #1 (companion novels)

Publisher: Self-published

Publication Date: 5-14-13

Pages: 375

Genre: New Adult

Source: Ebook for Swoon-worthy & Delicious Book Club

GoodreadsAmazon

One thing Emerson Moore has come to terms with is that she is the school slut. She knows her way around a frat house and how to get what she wants. She doesn’t make any excuses for her actions and she doesn’t pretend to be anything different. She is who she is and with that she knows how to have a good time. She’s made rules to keep relationships at bay and avoid the demons of her past.

When her best friend, Cole has his two friends from back home move in with him she begins to think she has met her match with Jaxon Riley. Jax is the perfect mixture of tattooed muscle and a sweet-talking mouth. With “hand” written notes, a voice that exudes sex and knowing just how to get under her skin, Jaxon learns how to break all the rules. But will he just end up breaking her heart anyway?

Short and Sweet

This is a cute, quick read that I highly recommend to anybody who’s looking for a sweet New Adult book. Jaxon is one of my all-time favorite male characters, and I love how the story centers around a group of five inseparable friends. Although some parts of the story might be a little bit cliché, and the ebook version is not as polished as it could be, it was still a great read.

My Review

It’s been a while since I’ve read anything New Adult, but it was honestly just what I needed. Especially after having read all of these creepy Halloween books this month, this adorable story starring Emerson and Jaxon was so refreshing. I loved this one.

When the book first starts, you realize that something is a little different — the main character, Emerson, is a self-declared “slut,” and is hell-bent on not ever getting sucked into a relationship, because of some horrible things that have happened to her in the past. I loved the role-reversal of her character; she’s not the kind of girl that you see everyday in the NA genre. And, even though her family history was a little bit cliché, I was still really able to connect with her as a character. I felt bad for her, because she obviously needs help functioning in relationships — with friends and romantically.

So, enter, Jaxon. The second he pulled into the story on his motorcycle, I swooned. Jax is the perfect mix of sweet, gentlemanly boyfriend and rough, sexy bad-boy. I don’t normally get very attracted to male characters, but Jaxon definitely found his way into my heart. I loved the way he treated Emerson…it’s every girl’s dream to have a guy want you so much that he is willing to do anything to make you his girlfriend and keep you in his life. Even though Emerson wasn’t ready for a relationship, he was so patient with her and knew exactly when to let go and when to push, in order for her to finally realize what’s been right in front of her face.

My favorite part of this novel was the relationships between the five main characters of this book — Emerson, Jaxon, Quinn (Em’s step-sister), Cole (Em’s and Quinn’s best friend), and Jace (Jaxon’s twin brother). I really liked how supportive of each other they were, and how they were all so close. I would love to have a group of friends like these guys! The combination of all of them together is really what makes Emerson come to her senses and, for the first time in her life, have a healthy relationship.

But even though I did love this book, I didn’t feel like I could quite give this book 5 stars, because of a few things that bothered me. Like I mentioned before, I thought that Em’s family problems were cliché, and they got even worse as time went on. I really hated how the thing with her parents was resolved…it was all just wrapped up way too neatly for me. There were also a couple of typos/errors that I noticed in the ebook version (not a ton, but more than one or two), and I usually deduct half of a star for that if it gets too annoying.

Ultimately, though, this book was so sweet and romantic. There were even a few parts where I was tearing up a little bit…and I pretty much never cry while reading! I loved all of the characters, and Jaxon was just the perfect guy for me. I can’t wait to continue on with the series and read a book from Jace’s perspective!

(see this review on Goodreads)

My Rating 4 Anchors

Leave a Reply

