Book Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

12578077

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Four Stars

Title: Obsidian

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Series: Lux (#1)

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Publication Date: 5-8-12

Pages: 335

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance

GoodreadsAmazon

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens. 

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Separator

Short and Sweet

Completely un-put-down-able! I was throughly captivated throughout the entire novel, and loved my first experience reading about aliens. I totally related to the main character, and I love all of the supporting characters. I enjoyed the romance between Katy and Daemon, and cannot wait to continue on with this unique series!

My Review

I was completely unsure of what to expect with this novel. Going into it, I knew basically nothing about it, besides that the Lux series is really popular, and that it’s about aliens. The whole “aliens” thing really turned me off at first, because I’m really not a fan of them, but I was able to get past that original fear once I started reading the book.

And, let me tell you, as soon as I opened up to the first page (at 1am…what a mistake), I could not put this down. I only meant to read a few chapters, but by the time I was finally able to force myself to go to sleep, it was 3am and I was halfway through the book.Whoops. And this “problem” continued the next day, when I managed to finish the rest in only one more sitting. I was really surprised that this book was so engaging. I expected to like it, because of all the hype, but I didn’t expect to become so totally engrossed.

Immediately, I really liked the main character, Katy. Well, she’s a book blogger, so how could I not? (Observation: this is the second book I’ve read this month in which the main character was a book blogger…what is up with that?) It was easy to identify with her, as she has a funny, big-hearted personality and deals with a lot of normal and relatable teenage problems — like moving to a new town, trying to make friends at a new school, and wondering if she will be asked to the Homecoming dance. But she doesn’t come across as being vapid and boring because of those things.

I did think that Katy’s character was kind of shallow, though. Even though we learn about how she had to go through losing her father, she doesn’t talk about it, and the tragedy doesn’t seem to have affected her that much, besides being the reason she moved to West Virginia. I just wish that the author had gone a little bit deeper in showing us what drives her and who she really is.

That being said, I thought that the author did a great job with the supporting characters. I absolutely loved Katy’s friend Dee. She is exactly the kind of best friend that I would love to have.

And then there’s Daemon. He is frustrating and arrogant, and occasionally, downright mean. But I love the little peeks we get to see into his inner personality between his bouts of anger, and how much he really does care — especially about his family.

Now…to address the whole alien thing, I did have some problems with it. I wasn’t as disturbed by the idea of characters being aliens as I thought I was going to be. They aren’t green and slimy, and they aren’t super weird. They are basically just like humans, except that they only take the form of humans to blend in around everybody else…really, they look like something else entirely.

My problem with it was how the aliens handled Katy in the beginning. I understand that there has to be little hints about there being something weird going on before the big secret is revealed…but it was way too obvious. The aliens weren’t even being remotely careful about keeping their identities hidden. They acted super sketch every time they were around Katy, and made really strange statements in regards to her being different and not allowed to hang out with them, and they had a really strong “us vs. them” mentality that was made very clear to everybody in the town. I just thing that, if you’re going way out of your way to hide your secret from humans, wouldn’t you be more careful about having really obvious conversations about “alien stuff” right in front of them? It was confusing, because it was very out of character for them and made no sense.

I also didn’t like Katy’s reaction to finding out about the secret. It was like she barely even cared. If I found out that people I knew were aliens, I would totally freak out. Katy is just interested in seeing their superpowers. She doesn’t even seem that surprised, and doesn’t have any trouble dealing with this huge realization that has been dropped on her. It was just super unrealistic…especially for somebody that is only a teenager. In my opinion, Katy acted a lot more mature than someone her age would actually be in that situation.

And I also didn’t think that the whole “we’re aliens that have powers” thing was realistic either. Obviously this whole storyline isn’t realistic at all in the first place, but then on top of that to have the fact that they can do all sorts of crazy things, like move really fast, heal people, and shape-shift, just seems like overkill. If there were aliens…is it really possible that they could do those things? I just don’t totally believe it.

Overall, this novel completely hooked me and took me along for a great ride. I loved the romantic tension between Daemon and Katy, as well as all of the conflict that happens with the aliens trying to keep themselves and other humans safe. I’m so glad that I finally got into this series, and I can’t wait to read the rest of it. I would highly recommend this book, even to people who might be a little bit wary of the fact that it’s about aliens.

My Rating4 Anchors

(see this review on Goodreads)

3 responses to “Book Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. I’ve owned this book for a while and have been putting it off bc of the whole alien thing… And because I’m not sure I want to start a loooong series. If it was a 3 booker I probably would’ve started it already :(. I love that the m/c is a book blogger… How cool is that!?!? And I’m totally excited that you found this book unputdownable. I absolutely love when I get so into a book. Love your review, you’ve definitely made me want to stop procrastinating!

    • Awesome! I was really hesitant to go into this series as well, with the same “aliens” and “long series” hangups. But I’m so glad that I ended up reading this one, and I plan to do a marathon read of the rest of the series (that’s published so far) in December.

      I do have to be honest, though, that even though the alien thing didn’t bother me as much as I thought it would, it was still kind of weird and I found it super unrealistic. I mean, aliens in general are unrealistic, but even if you suspended your belief that far, the explanations of what was going on didn’t make a whole lot of “scientific” sense (if you know what I mean) either.

      I still think that it was a really good book…you just have to be ready to use a whole lot of imagination, haha. So it really depends on whether or not you think you’d be into that kind of sci-fi. If you read it, let me know what you think!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#6) |·

Leave a Reply

