Book Haul (#3): BookOutlet.com (18 books!)

A little while ago, I mentioned to you guys that I’d bought a bunch of books from BookOutlet.com and couldn’t wait to share them with you…well here they are!

I’ve ordered from Book Outlet a few times, and have always been pretty pleased with my experience. The books I get from them aren’t always in perfect condition, and they don’t have every book I want, but you seriously cannot beat their prices. This time, I got 18 books, and it averaged out to be about $3.50/book (including shipping!).

Since I got so many, I sort of separated them into different categories, instead of featuring each individual book on its own.
Historical Fiction

Historical Fiction:

  • The Luxe by Anna Godberson: Pretty much everybody has read this book. I’ve heard some good and not-so-good things about it, so I’ve been on the fence for a really long time. I finally just decided to take the plunge and get it. I’ll make up my own opinion about it!
  • Gilt by Katherine Longshore: I’m so excited about this one! I love historical fiction, especially the Tudor period, so this one is perfect for me. I also don’t read much YA historical fiction, so I’m really excited about that.
  • Vixen by Jillian Larkin: I’ve always been interested in the 1920s, but didn’t get fully obsessed until I read The Diviners by Libba Bray. I can’t wait to read more books set in this time period!

Contemporary

Contemporary (sort of):

  • Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan: Yay! I’m putting this book on my December TBR I think, since it’s supposed to be a Christmas-y novel. David Levithan isn’t one of my most favorite authors, but he’s still pretty good and I have a collection of almost all of his books (for some reason?), so I felt like I needed to have this one, too.
  • The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp: I really want to see the movie that they made this book into, so I need to read it first. And it was less than $2.00!
  • Taming the Beast by Emily Maguire: This is about an innapropriate relationship between a 14-year old and a 38-year old. I don’t know why I like reading about that stuff, but I’m a little bit obsessed with it.
  • Pretty Girl-13 by Liz Coley: So excited about this one! It’s a psychological thriller and I’ve heard such good things about it. It’s at the top of my TBR list.

ParanormalFantasy

Paranormal/Fantasy:

  • Everneath by Brodi Ashton: I’m not totally in love with the synopsis for this one — apparently the main character goes to the underworld or something — but a lot of my Goodreads friends gave it high ratings, so I think I’ll probably like it.
  • Unearthly by Cynthia Hand: I’ve read a few angel books, but haven’t found one that I’ve totally loved yet. I’m hoping maybe Unearthly will be “the one,” haha.
  • Incarnate by Jodi Meadows: This book is about reincarnation and I’ve never read anything about that before, so I’m kind of excited to jump into this world. I also really love the cover! It’s even prettier in person.

PostApocalyptic

Dystopia/Post-Apocalyptic:

  • Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne: Ahh this one sounds so good. Basically, the apocalypse comes and 14 kids are trapped in a superstore. (Tell me that this doesn’t remind you of that Dawson’s Creek episode!)
  • Breathe by Sarah Crossan: None of my Goodreads friends have read this one yet, so I guess I’m going to be the test bunny, but I like the idea behind the book and am interested in reading more dystopian novels.
  • Gone by Michael Grant: Another unique post-apocalytic novel…all of the adults disappear and only teenagers, kids, and babies are left. This has so much potential!
  • This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers: This is one of those ones I’m most excited for. It’s the zombie apocalypse and a bunch of people have taken up shelter in an empty high school. That sounds like it could get very exciting.

Series

Series:

I don’t normally buy multiple books in a series before I’ve read the first one, but I’ve noticed that more and more people seem to be doing this lately, and I kind of understand why. First of all, if book reviewers that you trust have read it and liked it…you’re probably safe. And it’s better to get the full series before you start reading, in case there’s a cliffhanger and you want to keep reading right into the next one. So I think that I might start doing this occasionally. It really depends on the book, and how inexpensive (or not) it is.

  • Anna Dressed in Blood (#1-2): I’m not really sure what this one is about…but everybody freaking loves this book. I wanted to read it this month, but I don’t think that I’m going to end up having time. But definitely soon!
  • The Body Finder (#1-2): I love the unique idea behind this series, and it’s got great ratings on Goodreads and from everybody I’ve talked to about it. I can’t wait to start this one!
12 responses to “Book Haul (#3): BookOutlet.com (18 books!)

  1. Wow that’s quite a haul! I highly recommend This is Not a Test… It’s so good, Courtney Summers is my fav. I almost bought Gone the last time I was at the book store. Maybe I should have. I’ll wait and see what you think of it 🙂

  2. I love when I get a horde of cheap books. Getting a bunch on my kindle at once just doesn’t have the same feeling. Curse my lack of storage space!

    Are you reviewing all of these? I’m really curious about some of them.

    • Nothing makes me happier! I agree…Kindle books are great, but nothing beats the rush that comes with a new physical book. I need more storage space, too! This last haul tipped me over the edge. I’m going to buy new bookcases next week, haha. I will be reviewing most, if not all, of these books…but it’s going to take me a while. I already have so many books in my TBR pile that I don’t know when I will get to them. Any specific ones that you’re most interested in?

      • Nothing specific but any of the dystopian ones. I’ve been on a run of those sorts of books lately. I tend to get caught up in a genre for a while and then move on to another when something else hooks me (or disappoints me enough to move on)

      • Okay! I’ll move around my TBR a little bit and try to read some soon! It’ll be a good excuse to read some of the books I already have lying around.

    • Haha, I know! I really couldn’t just pass those prices by, could I? That’s what I’m going to tell my boyfriend the next time a new box of books arrives at the door 😉

  3. I’ve read Vixen– It was pretty entertaining but lacked that special “something” for me. Oh, and I have heard great things about Anna Dressed in Blood. Great, great things.

    And now I’m going to raid Book Outlet. Because I like cheap books.

    • I hope you find some things that you like! They can be really hit-or-miss, but I usually find at least a few good ones 🙂 I’ve heard great things about Anna Dressed in Blood as well. I’m REALLY excited for that one!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#5) |·

  5. Pingback: I Bought 15 Books for Less than $70 - My Novel OpinionMy Novel Opinion·

Leave a Reply

