Top Ten Unusual Character Names (That I Like)

Top Ten Tuesday

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is unusual character names. I chose to understand this as meaning “mostly unheard-of” names, rather than only names that are completely made up. I certainly haven’t met anybody with one of these names! These are also all names that I actually like, instead of ones that made me say “eew, that’s a weird name” (i.e. Renesmee, blechh).

Top Ten Unusual Character Names

  1. Raffe from Angelfall by Susan Ee
  2. Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  3. Tris from Divergent by Veronica Roth (I don’t know if this counts, since it’s more like a nickname)
  4. America from The Selection by Kiera Cass
  5. Terra from Terra by Gretchen Powell
  6. Søren from The Siren by Tiffany Reisz
  7. Daenerys Targaryen from A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin\
  8. Hazel from The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  9. Maise from Unteachable by Leah Raeder
  10. Sage from The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult

13 responses to “Top Ten Unusual Character Names (That I Like)

    • I almost left it out because of that…but I like it too much, haha. And also because I decided that it’s not actually a nickname, it’s her new name that she picked when she was initiated into the Dauntless faction.

Leave a Reply

