Weekly Wrap-Up (#5)

Books I Finished This Week:

Books I Finished This Week

  1. The Diviners by Libba Bray
  2. The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong
  3. World War Z by Max Brooks (DNF at 73 pages)

Books I’m in the Middle Of:

Books I'm in the Middle Of

  1. Love You More by Lisa Gardner
  2. Strength by Carrie Butler

Books I Got from the Library:

A couple of weeks ago, I used The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks for a “Waiting for Wednesday” post. I ended up signing up to get it at my library, and saw that there were over 200 people ahead of me, so I figured that I wouldn’t be getting it for at least a couple of months. Well, what a surprise when I got a notice from my library saying that it was ready to be picked up! This book wasn’t originally in the plan for me in November, but I guess I’ll have to make room!

IMG_2575

  1. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
  2. The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks
  3. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

 

Books I Bought/Received:

This past weekend, I went to NYC with my parents and we visitedย two bookstores! My Mom and Dad actually ended up surprising me and bought me a bunch of books! I have a special book haul with all of those books coming up, and don’t want to spoil it, so I’m not going to list them here.

Books I Bought This Week

  1. Nocturne by Andrea Randall and Charles Sheehan-Miles
  2. Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Posts You Might’ve Missed:

  1. Book Review: Good by S. Walden
  2. Top Ten Books I Was Forced to Read
  3. Completed & Not-So-Completed Book Series
  4. Book Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
6 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up (#5)

  1. Your blog is gorgeous, Miranda! Just absolutely gorgeous. Hurrah for us Oxygen Theme users ๐Ÿ˜› And I hope you enjoyed The Diviners it’s a favorite of mine– what’d you think of Evie?

    • Hahaha ๐Ÿ™‚ I love this theme; it’s really pretty. Although I really dislike the awkward size of the featured images. I can never get anything to fit perfectly, haha. You do a better job than me at that!

      Yes, I enjoyed The Diviners! I think I gave it 4 stars? I’ll be posting a review of it soon! Evie was seriously awesome. I love how she was flawed and annoying, but grew so much as the book went on. Probably one of my most favorite MCs ever, actually. You?

      • Oh, I have the same trouble as you. Sometimes I just want to shake the person who made up the theme, since it’s a little annoying when the featured image doesn’t fit right O_o

        Evie was so loud, stubborn, and annoying ๐Ÿ˜› I feel like Libba Bray really took some chances with Evie’s character. I mean, it is easy to dislike her and I even admit to rolling my eyes at her sometimes.

        But, really, you just can’t hate the girl. She’s completely different from many other YA heroines. She’s not kick-butt, mature, and no-nonsense. Nope, she’s loud, silly, immature, and a little selfish. It’s refreshing. And, of course, her character growth was so fun to read about!

      • Even though she was really frustrating at times, I just couldn’t help but love her. I guess I have a thing for untraditional heroines. Sometimes YA main characters are almost too mature. Whereas, it’s very believable that she might be a little silly, brash, and maybe even not the greatest friend at times. And that made her character growth even more rewarding!

        There were other parts of the book that I didn’t love, though. I’m debating whether or not I’ll continue on with the series…but I probably just will, haha. I’m a sucker for Libba Bray’s writing.

    • I really enjoyed The Summoning! I can’t wait to pick up the rest of the books in the series. I didn’t expect it to be so creepy, and I loved that it was about necromancy, which is something I’ve never read about before. I’ll be posting my review for it soon!

      And I’ll probably be starting The Longest Ride at the beginning of November. I was sort of on the fence about it as well, but now that I have it, I’m probably just going to read it since it’s here, haha.

Leave a Reply

