Top Ten Books I Was Forced To Read

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Top Ten Tuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is all about books that you were forced to read.

Now, this could’ve been forced to read by anybody…like how my boyfriend made me read A Game of Thrones, which I obviously ended up loving, but I chose all books that I was at some point forced to read in school. And I’m glad that I was!
3636

The Giver by Lois Lowry (middle school)

10975

The Sound and the Fury by William Faulker (high school & college)

1617

Night by Elie Wiesel (high school)

4671

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (high school)

1625

Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare (twice in college)

2657

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (high school)

77203

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (high school)

48855

The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank (middle school)

11337

The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison (college)

3049

Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (college)

Were you forced to read any of these same books in school? Did you love them or hate them?

17 responses to “Top Ten Books I Was Forced To Read

  1. I haven’t read a lot of these, because classics tend to scare me D: But I loved The Diary of Anne Frank! One of the first books to make me ugly cry. Great list!

    • Awww! I can’t remember if I cried while reading it…it was a while ago. I want to do a re-read, though, because it’s been almost 10 years since I picked it up. Don’t be scared of classics! I’m actually planning to do a post on why people shouldn’t be scared to read classics and what books classics “beginners” should start with. So definitely stay tuned 🙂

  2. If you’re going to reread anne Frank look for an uncensored version. The one you read in middle school likely had all the weird young naive sex entries she wrote cut out.

    • Everybody has been saying that they cried while reading it! I definitely want to pick it up again. Speaking of which, I should probably re-read To Kill a Mockingbird as well. I absolutely love that book, but it’s been forever since I’ve read it.

    • I think that’s why it’s perfect for required reading in school…the main character is young, so kids are able to identify with her, the story is entertaining, and there are so many moral issues that are touched upon. It’s a great balance, and makes it easily teachable. Good point!

    • Kite Runner was awesome! The author actually spoke at my college commencement and he was really cool. I love his other book, too…A Thousand Splendid Suns. I read that one on my own after reading Kite Runner. The Giver is definitely a MG classic that everybody should read! If it makes you feel better, it’s part of a quartet of books that are set in the same world. So, even though that one book is short, there’s a little more to it.

      I actually think that the unlikeable characters are what make The Great Gatsby so awesome. They are flawed, but realistic. But I know that not everybody likes it.

    • Haha. Don’t be fooled…there were a lot that I didn’t read (or read and hated) as well. But English was always my favorite class, and then I went on to major in English, so I guess liking that stuff is just part of my personality or something. But there were a few that I absolutely hated.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#5) |·

Leave a Reply

