Book Review: Frostbite by Richelle Mead (no spoilers!)

2282133

Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2) by Richelle Mead

Four Stars

Title: Frostbite

Author: Richelle Mead

Publisher: Razorbill

Publication Date: 1-1-08

Pages: 327

Genre: Young adult, Paranormal

GoodreadsAmazon Barnes & Noble

It’s winter break at St. Vladimir’s, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy’s crawling with Guardians—including Rose’s hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if hand-to-hand combat with her mom wasn’t bad enough, Rose’s tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason’s got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian! 

But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price…

 

Separator

 

I didn’t like Frostbite as much as I liked the first Vampire Academy novel, but seriously, when is the second book in a series ever as good as the first? The book’s preface, in which the author point-blank explains what the hell is going on with no attempt to gracefully weave it into the first couple chapters of the novel itself, is super awkward. But I actually kind of appreciated it. The whole recapping thing always annoys me, so I would much rather just be able to read the no-frills preface to refresh myself than have to deal with it being shoved in my face for the next 50 pages.

I liked the concept behind the plot of this book. The plot revolves around the horrifying idea that the dangerous Strigoi might be teeming up in large groups with humans in order to attack the Moroi’s royal families. Strigoi have previously almost always worked alone, so the idea that they are allying with each other is frightening for both the Moroi and their Guardians.

I really enjoyed the dynamic between Rose and her mother in this book. In Frostbite, we learn more about their relationship, which really helps develop both of their characters. A big part of this book is also Rose’s relationship with Mason. But Mason kind of annoys me, so I wasn’t overly thrilled about this. I’d much prefer Rose being with Dimitri, and unfortunately their relationship doesn’t develop much during this book; it’s just more of the same “will they, won’t they” of the first one.

I was pleased by the fact that, although there was a specific storyline for this novel, this books set up important plotlines that will probably affect the rest of the series. I’d much rather read a series that is focused on an overarching arc, than each book having its own separate problems and solutions that don’t really transfer over into the series as a whole (which I kind of thought this series was going to be like, after the first one).

Although Frostbite didn’t quite live up to my expectations, I still really enjoyed reading it and can’t wait to continue on with the rest of the books in the series!

 

(see this review on Goodreads)

3 responses to “Book Review: Frostbite by Richelle Mead (no spoilers!)

  1. I love this series. I hope the movie does well mostly because I want to see the last three books be turned into movies. They were by far my favorites.

  2. I hope it does well, too. I can’t wait to see it! I’ve heard a lot of people say that this series gets better and better as it goes on, so I’m really looking forward to reading the rest of it.

  3. Pingback: September 2013 Wrap-Up | Tempest Books·

Leave a Reply

