Book Burn-Out

Last month, I read a grand total of 23 books. Let me say that again…TWENTY-THREE BOOKS.

I don’t know where the heck this came from. I’ve never read this much in a month before. Part of it was definitely because of the Bout of Books read-a-thon, which I participated in last month. But I only read 6 books that week, meaning that I read a total of 17 books throughout the other three weeks. That’s freaking amazing! To be completely fair, though, there were a couple that I did not finish (but even with those, I read at least 100 pages of each).

So now, it’s September. It’s almost halfway through the month and I’ve only completed 6 books. Yes, this is still an awesome accomplishment. But it just feels measly after last month.

 

10757833

 

Right now I’m stuck on Kami Garcia’s Beautiful Chaos, the third book in the Beautiful Creatures series. I’ve been reading this one for days now, and I’m only 150 pages in. Even though this series hasn’t completely captivated me from the very beginning, I’m on the third book…I can’t stop now! Or, at least, I really don’t want to. What a cop-out that would feel like.

Do you guys ever get “book guilt” like that? And so now I’m not sure. Should I continue slogging through the 500 pages of bleh that Garcia is doling out, or should I switch it up and move on to a new one? And, if I do that, should I just give up on it altogether, or wait until later on in the month to pick it back up?

I’m just feeling kind of stuck. I’m not sure what my next move is going to be. Or what it should be. Any advice?

 

2 responses to “Book Burn-Out

  1. I always get like that with books! I’ll go back and attempt to start a book over a million times if my book guilt kicks in. Someone recommended Midnight’s Children, by Salman Rushdie, to me after we read Haroun and the Sea of Stories in EIGHTH GRADE and I STILL pick it up and try to get through it every now and then 😛

    • Oh my god, haha….That’s way worse than I am 😛 I finally decided to just give up on the one that I was specifically talking about, and it made me feel so much better. But I think I’ll probably try to finish it at some point, especially because I’m already like halfway through at this point.

Leave a Reply

